We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn and Suites
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

For the price it was a rip off. The hot tub in pool area was not working. For a heated pool it was 62 degrees. When asked about it, was informed its a heated pool and it was used a lot during the day. So it might be having trouble catching up. I sais either the heat is off or something is wrong, I managed pools for almost five years. There kids in it turning blue and they didn't care or did Quality Inn.
The breakfast in the morning was cold cereal, greesey sausage, watered down orange juice. The rooms were comfortable, but need better lighting. When a couple check in don't call after 45 minutes to see if the room is fine. They may be busy. The phones, there should be two in the rooms. One one the working table and one the night stand by the bed. For $106 per night, I don't think I got my money worth and another person who to stay there felt the same way. I know I will not be returning, the facts are the facts.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scuba132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    34
    17
    22
See reviews for
29
21
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

OUr room was dirty the light in the bathroom had water pouring out of it. It snowed outside they did not clean the parking lot or the sidewalks. I almost fell twice. The hall ways were freezing just like the room next to us their heater did not work right in their room. They did not refill the food items everything would be gone and everyone would have to ask them to fill everything. The first day they drained the hot tub then filled it with ice cold water and it never worked again. One of the couples that were with us had a sweatshirt missing out of their room after the first day we stayed. Workers not at all friendly I would not ever stay at this hotel again or tell anyone else to. Bad trip.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are on the main lobby, the rooms on the first floor you need to park d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmil59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I am typing this IN this very room right now, as I got stuck in Des Moines overnight due to bad weather. Between the state wrestling tournament and lots of flight cancellations, most hotels were full. The only room available here was the king suite, so that's what I booked to avoid sleeping on the floor of the airport.

There is NO parking at this hotel. 3 cars were parked illegally behind other cars in the top lot. I pulled down around the back and got the only space left. 2 or 3 cars circled looking for spaces and ended up having to park in a lot for the building over. I wouldn't want to bring my luggage that far to the hotel.

Upon entering, front desk staff seemed overwhelmed by the day (lots of bookings, I'm sure) but were friendly enough. While the lobby is small, it is clean and bright. Free breakfast takes place right here - with the small number of tables and little space, I cannot imagine what it must be like down here from 6-9am. I will not even make the attempt.

Upon entering my room, the smell of air freshener overwhelmed me, quickly followed by the strong stench of body odor they must have been attempting to cover up. yuck.

I opened the windows to air out the room and it seemed like they were already open. They are extremely thin and do not seal well. Traffic from the very busy road out front is clearly audible with the windows closed.

The place has a clean coat of paint and some art work on the walls, but outside of that, it's dated, dated, dated. This is at best a 2 star hotel and not worth the $150 I paid for this room (since the suite was all that was left).

If you have the option, keep driving.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

A little dated decor. The hot tub was beyond too hot. Free breakfast wasn't great. Right next to airport and the Windows where paper thin (terrible).
Bed and pillows were comfortable. For the cost of $80-90 per night..this hotel is over priced by at least $30-$40. Would not stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Was driving thru and needed a place... was disappointed. price was too high compared to room quality. Old and outdated. The water in the shower was too conditioned. Been to many better priced hotels with same accommodations. Just simply wasnt worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loriekirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Although the decor is dated, this is a clean, welcoming place to stay in Des Moines. It was very comfortable and I slept well. Having a free breakfast is a plus - it is not a bad breakfast and the buffet is larger than the standard free hotel breakfast. The hotel provides free rides to the local hospitals, which is a nice service. My only complaint is if your family member is transferred to a hospice, you are on your own.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It was a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at the Quality Inn Des Moines Airport. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. They gave us good recommendations for restaurants to visit in the area. The rooms were very clean and the room decor was nice. Enjoyed the pool and the hot tub

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the fleur drive are a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#31 of 48 in Des Moines
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.8 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#14 of 48 in Des Moines
25 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#28 of 48 in Des Moines
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites

Property: Quality Inn and Suites
Address: 5231 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2833 (Formerly Des Moines Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Des Moines Comfort Inn® is conveniently located less than one mile from the Des Moines International Airport. The hotel is near many popular attractions, including Blank Park Zoo, Iowa Events Center, Wells Fargo Arena, Des Moines Art Center and the Living History Farms museum. Nearby colleges and universities include Drake University, Simpson College, Grand View College, Des Moines Area Community College, Des Moines University, AIB College of Business and Mercy College of Health Sciences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Comfort Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Des Moines
Quality Inn And Suites Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing