We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn and Suites
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Worst thing is not very soundproof, the neighbors had music with base on all night. Hotel has been recently remodeled and looks nice. Faculty was clean. You could see the age a bit around the shower. Pool was 3-4 ft deep and not freezing cold which is good. Hot tub was small but hot. Morning breakfast was the usual. Waffles weren't great but biscuits & gravy were good. Parking was nice & close. Had to wait a bit longer to checkout than I thought was appropriate, they were in the back room with lots of talking and phone rang many times before they came out but once someone came out, checkout happened quickly. Overall a good stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank akmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 154 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

There is really no much to say about this hotel. It's close to the airport, it is clean and in fairly good condition. It does not have elevator so this might be an issue if you have heavy luggage and get a 2nd or basement level room. Other than that, it serves it's purpose just fine.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Leomex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay during our visit to Des Moines. The location was close to downtown and I enjoyed the morning breakfast. The staff was very friendly and polite. Appreciate the upgrade to a suite.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Good value especially with being so close to the airport.

Concerns:
Window screens caked with drywall dust from last round of renovations. No wash cloths in bath. Floor lamp with dangerous switch. Stained sitting chair and comforter (same cherry colored spots). Desk chair height not proportionate to desk height.

Highlights were prompt, courteous service, nice and tasty breakfast selection, large HD TV.

Overall good marks for this location, just need to work on the details. I would most likely choose this location again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MessNmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at the Quality Inn and Suites at Des Moines airport, all that you could ask for in a hotel these days. The Desk Staff was friendly, property was nicely renovated and the rooms were like brand new with New carpet, paint and flat screen TV's and the rooms were clean, consistent and well maintated. For the price, it is the best value on Fleur Drive near the hotel.

Scott P.

Lakeville, MN

Room Tip: newly renovated and clean, best value on Fleur!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were just passing through on our motorcycle and needed a place to rest. This wasn't fancy by any means but was a good night stay. If you are just looking for a place to rest your head at night for a decent price, this would work fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well, i was staying at the hotel, having a cup of coffee when I overheard an older gentleman working at the desk asking the younger guy if he has posted any good reviews on TripAdvisor? He seemed concerned about some reviews posted that reflects badly towards the hotel and he wants to get better ratings. What is the use of better reviews and better ratings when the place is not well maintained. Parking lot has cigarette buds, trash can be seen by the creek next to the hotel, on top of that the check in person was out smoking in her car. My last review was not posted because it was way more worse than this one.
AC in lobby looked like as if they are on a show, looks good on the outside but does not work. Breakfast, wow!!! I should have gone to Motel 6, paid 50.00 +tax and then go have breakfast to the Perkins next to it and I would have had a better deal than paying 120 + Tax for room and the breakfast included!
This place is just a sore to the eye. The person checking us in looked to have more tatoos than her customer service skills. That was a bad start to our stay. We had some problems with our Room AC, She said she cannot help as she does not know how to fix an AC Unit. It made our stay memorable. Next time I come to Des Moines, this place is not going to be in my good books.

Well, just wanting to make Tripadvisor Reviewers know that most of these "Excellent" Reviews

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtrav0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#32 of 50 in Des Moines
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.8 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#15 of 50 in Des Moines
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites

Address: 5231 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2833 (Formerly Des Moines Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: $89 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Des Moines Comfort Inn® is conveniently located less than one mile from the Des Moines International Airport. The hotel is near many popular attractions, including Blank Park Zoo, Iowa Events Center, Wells Fargo Arena, Des Moines Art Center and the Living History Farms museum. Nearby colleges and universities include Drake University, Simpson College, Grand View College, Des Moines Area Community College, Des Moines University, AIB College of Business and Mercy College of Health Sciences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Comfort Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Des Moines
Quality Inn And Suites Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing