We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn and Suites
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Des Moines
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Comfort Inn - Des Moines Airport. I specially enjoyed the 42" LCD TV with free movies that were available to watch. I was stranded at the Des Moines Airport and took a shuttle from the airport. Had some time to kill and was very pleased to know that they offer free movies to their guests. Definately will return during next visit.

Room Tip: If you want to access internet on TV in your room, ask the front desk for a wireless keyboard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    34
    17
    21
See reviews for
29
21
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Rose, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Staff was great, Rooms were large and very nice with very comfortable beds very close to airport and easy access to everything else. If you are looking at pictures on the web site this hotel is much nicer than it looks.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
637 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The Confort Inn had all we needed for an overnight stay ..comfy beds, an A/c that worked well with a fan only option that I like for white noise in a hotel. Water pressure & temp was fin...rooms looked pretty new & well kept..we asked for & got a main floor room right by the side entrance which was good when we came in at midnight after an event. We were meeting someone for breakfast so just grabbed a couple yogurts on the way out but it looked like we could have found enough to skip breakfast otherwise. Like others have said it's very quiet during the night due to no flights ..however I did wake about 7 with a loud takeoff..but went back to sleep so nothing too bad.

Room Tip: ask for a main floor room as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed here after six nights in other Comfort Inn's. This is 100% the best one we stayed at. Check in was a breeze the desk staff was very helpful in getting us directions to where we wanted to go. Our room was on the 3rd floor which is actually the 2nd floor as they are built into the side of a hill. There is no elevator at this property which is a downside. We stayed in a king suite that had a nice size living room with a sleeper sofa, tv, air conditioner, bar area with sink, fridge and microwave. The other room had two king size beds, table, chair, dresser, tv and Armour. The property is right across from the airport yet I never heard the noise of a plane all night. The beds are super comfortable and I could have slept for days.

The pool here was perfect. It is your typical Comfort Inn pool which means it is shallow and there is a ladder at each end. There is also a hot tub. The pool room was not hot and muggy. It was set up very cute and there were towels throughout.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagesmom314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, MI
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

They have done some remodeling (new beds, showers, etc.) but it's in need of a lot more work & attention to detail. Specifically there was a light bulb missing from the bed side lamp, not enough electrical outlets for laptop & cell phone, slow wireless Internet, tub drain was clogged and the shower water temp control was stuck (have not seen that type anywhere else). The beds were new but way too soft for my taste (personal preference). I did like the fact that the windows can be fully opened. I don't know the rate because Delta Airlines paid for the room (canceled flight) but I don't plan to stay there next time in Des Moines. That said, the front desk staff was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Comfortable and clean rooms. Complimentary breakfast had a waffle maker and fresh fruit - a little something for everyone. Convenient location and helpful staff. Will stay here again next time we are in Des Moines!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skisnowing
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Stayed here while needing to work close to the airport. Room was comfortable, wifi was slow but free, tv was very old school but had a descent channel selection. Bed was above average but linens were about as expected for a comfort inn. Shower would not get hot .. Was only warm both nights. Breakfast isn't anything special.. Pool was very small. Hotel uses a parking lot shuttle but it seemed pretty convenient for use to and from the airport. Coming back to DES moines and will stay somewhere else but may recommend to someone looking for a close airport hotel that is a cheap and has a conveinent shuttle

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skisnowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites

Property: Quality Inn and Suites
Address: 5231 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2833 (Formerly Des Moines Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Des Moines Comfort Inn® is conveniently located less than one mile from the Des Moines International Airport. The hotel is near many popular attractions, including Blank Park Zoo, Iowa Events Center, Wells Fargo Arena, Des Moines Art Center and the Living History Farms museum. Nearby colleges and universities include Drake University, Simpson College, Grand View College, Des Moines Area Community College, Des Moines University, AIB College of Business and Mercy College of Health Sciences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Comfort Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Des Moines
Quality Inn And Suites Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing