We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Des Moines Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
dension
1 review
“great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

this is the 5th year that my friends and family have been coming to this hotel in DesMiones for our trip... we have always had good service.. i have to say that the staff seems to get better every year, very helpfull with what ever we need.... and we will be back nest year

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snnettemom65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    64
    73
    64
    44
See reviews for
107
49
23
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I arrived very late & enjoyed my stay very much. I wouldn't recommend the interior rooms, as they are a bit musty since they can't get fresh air. But all in all we had a nice stay. The pool is great, although it would be nice if it opened earlier so guests could get an early swim. The place is a little old but updates appear to be taking place now. Breakfast is also really nice with lots of variety.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a outdoor window, rather than one on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k8tidyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Branch, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked a 2 queen bed room online two months early. I got my confirmation email for the 2 queen bed room, and I even called two days early to confirm my reservation. Then when I got to the hotel and checked in, the manager switched my reservation to a one king bed room without telling me. Then I was informed that no roll-away beds were available, and there was nothing the hotel could do. Needless to say I slept in a very uncomfortable chair that night and got very little sleep. So whats the point in confirmation emails and phone calls if at the last minute the management claims the right to put you where ever they want regardless of what you have paid for and have a receipt/confirmation email for. Also no compensation for my troubles!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirportHotelDSM, General Manager at Ramada Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for providing some feedback with your recent stay. We apologize for the incovenience with the rooming situation. We are going through a transition right now with both staff and renovating the property including the guest rooms and I will make sure your comments are shared with the front desk to ensure this does not happen again. We hope that the next time you stay in Des Moines you give us another opportunity to show our commitment to our guests meets and exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We got in late at night and drove right past it. The hotel sign was very confusing. Had a very nice breakfast - better than most hotels. Only a couple blocks from the airport - nice. Good value for an "airport" hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that look onto the interior areas. The outside views are dull. Our room was out of date...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirportHotelDSM, General Manager at Ramada Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing some feedback on your stay. We took your recommendation to heart and the sign is part of our renovation plans...look for some great changes at this hotel the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is TIRED!!! The photos of this place are misleading, the rooms are small, the beds are OK at best. The carpets don't look like they have been replaced since 1972. The bathrooms are dated as well. The place is need of landscaping in the worst way. When you pull in around the hotel there are weeds all over the place to welcome you to your room. When you see weeds surrounding the building you know you're in trouble. This is an airport hotel, so don't be surprised when you see jumbo jets touching down just outside your bedroom window. If you don't see them, you will certainly hear them. This is a Des Moines airport not JFK, so there aren't planes coming and going every second but more than enough to keep the fun going all night. The upside is that continental breakfast was decent. Also, skip the Bennigan's restaurant that is attached to the place, its as beaten down as the hotel is. I was happy to leave without any skin diseases, so that was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGM-Cincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirportHotelDSM, General Manager at Ramada Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are going through some changes with management in both the restaurant and hotel as well as renovating different areas of the building including our guest rooms. We have discussed your concerns and are working to make the improvements necessary to ensure a quality guest experience. We hope you give us another opportunity the next time you are in Des Moines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel in major need of an overhaul. The rooms were clean, but out dated. We were with a large party and one of them had problems with the bathroom door knob and got stuck in the bathroom for a bit of time. The hotel staff was notified and the maintenance man fixed it immediately. The hallway carpets were very stained and appeared dirty. The pool area is a nice huge area, but the ceiling was in bad shape, the cement area around the pool seemed dirty which is unfortunate because you don't see many pools this large, or areas to sit around the pool this large any more. It was nice that our group was able to sit at the tables in the pool area and have a lot of room. The pool area was hot and humid, almost unbearable at times. We had to open a door to get some ventilation.
The Bennigans is connected which is nice, but the restaurant tables are sticky. Doesn't seem like they are dirty but both the table we sat at for our evening meal and the table we sat at for breakfast were sticky. Breakfast had potential, but many members of our party experienced cold pancakes and French toast.
It was pricey for the quality of the hotel.
The good news is that hotel is renovating and has the potential to be a great place. Unfortunately I don't think many members of our party would be willing to ever go back and give it another try.

Room Tip: Members of our party complained that the rooms near the pool were very humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MS03t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Came in late; they allowed our pets which was good for an usually cold May night.
Breakfast ended too early for us to get any. Because we arrived after 1:00 we did not get up in time to eat. Breakfast til 10 would have been good. That was the only complaint.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#24 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Des Moines Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Des Moines Airport

Property: Ramada Des Moines Airport
Address: 1810 Army Post Rd, Des Moines, IA 50315-5413 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Des Moines Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Des Moines Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Des Moines Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Best Western
Best Western Des Moines
Ramada Des Moines Airport Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing