We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“J Benjamins (Simons) ROCKS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simon's J Benjamin's

Simon's J Benjamin's
Ranked #26 of 563 Restaurants in Des Moines
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“J Benjamins (Simons) ROCKS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to this restaurant on numerous occassions and it never disappointments. Food is excellent but the service is amazing. Simon is nearly always around and greeting people or chatting. Occassionally there is jazz - which is what was their last Saturday. Perfect volume level.
This restaurant is consistently at the top of my list!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    13
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could eat here every night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We come here at least 3 times a month but could eat here every night. We have come here for years and have always left full and happy. Simon and his staff are wonderful, food is always delicious and you always feel at home. Sausage chicken is my favorite and my girlfriend always just tells the staff to make her anything they are feeling. Our favorite place we have eaten at in DSM.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KMBCSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simon is such a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The owner Simon has discovered what most restaurants have forgotten: SERVICE with a SMILE.

I had wanted to go to this restaurant for many years and finally took clients. I have been back with my family since and my clients continue to go as well. The server, bartender, the owner, and all other support staff catered to us and made us feel as if they were old friends. The food is also amazing and they are open to customizing a dish if you ask. The prices are extremely fair and again the flavor is delightful. We have had the Filet, Chicken Sausage, Cordon Bleu, (Customized - Chicken Parm for the kids), Seafood Bisque, and so many more dishes!!

I look forward to our next experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMBogolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
514 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Small but good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Very small little place but the chef knows what he is doing. A great menu of choices. The food was fabulous. It was fresh and hot and fast. The only down side is how small the place is.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Zuletzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

A nice neighborhood restaurant. Decent food, and bit boring on the decor, though.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon's J Benjamin's also viewed

Des Moines, IA
Des Moines, IA
 
Des Moines, IA
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Simon's J Benjamin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing