We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most disgusting place I've seen...EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Extend a Suites - Des Moines
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Don't waste your money or time checking into this hole in the wall. It is the worst experience EVER. Hotel room was filty. Even had a booger on the wall to complete the rest of the filth. The pool area was the most digusting pool I've seen. Mold bacteria and whatever else growing everywhere. I demanded my money back a short time after checking in and paid the extra 20 bucks a night to stay at the motel 6. At least it was clean and we could actually use the pool. This place should be ashamed to charge people anything to stay here. It should be SHUT DOWN!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KatieB68123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 28 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Listed as a 3 star. Barely a one star
Dirty, dingy, nasty everywhere. Found garbage left on top of microwave and behind entertainment system. Very rundown looking everywhere. Door doesn’t close well. Very little maintenance of the building. Very dark looking interior, poor lighting. Windows very dirty, screen is out and has holes in it. Rooms not sound proof. Wall socket half out of wall. Light switch knob missing on one light.
Smoke detector has been removed for the room.
One outlet half hanging off wall.
Return from the day and A/C not working.
Positive- Refrigerator works well.
Bathroom was dirty upon arrival.
The WIFI was not working
Free continental breakfast? Yeah bagels, bread and cereal. bagels gone before 730. Not fully stocked for all patrons.
Front desk staff not properly dressed.
Returned from a day at the fair to take showers, asked for 5 towels, they were out. they delivered 2 towels about 2 hours later.
The alarm clock in room did not work.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First off the sign says Budget Inn but the hotel name is now Extend a suites. The front desk lady was very friendly and quite helpful with directions and giving us info on the area however, the other staff and my stay was HORRIBLE the first room i went in smelled like smoke and i had killed 3 cockroaches with in 10 minutes of being in the room I went to request a refund and they would not refund my money they instead put me in another room which seemed unsafe the window was busted and the lock on the door didnt work. Rather than waste my time complaining i decided to try to tough it out. As soon as i pulled the covers back there were bed bugs. That was it I went straight to the manager and she was very rude, she told me there was no refunds she could move me again or i could deal with it. That was it, i took my luggage and drove to the hotel down the street.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RetiredTraveler614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel has changed owners and is now known as Extend a Suites. Rooms get no room cleaning just new towels while we were there. Also they will not refund if you dont stay as long as you originally planed. There are much better for much less, the rooms were not the dirtiest I have seen, but they certainly have a lot of room for improvement!. Bottom Line use this as a last resort!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ultimateace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

It was smelly, old, the staff was rude. DO NOT GO HERE. IT IS NOT WORTH FIVE DOLLARS!!! I hated it so much. It is NOT in a safe area. The pool was in a green house and the water looks like pee! This place needs to be bulldozed!

Room Tip: No good rooms, do NOT go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

As someone who visits Mom & Pop motels frequently, this was a surprise. Dirty filthy, no clock,no fridge,no phone,rock hard mattress,old old sheets and blankets,only stayed cause to beat up and tired to drive more.

Room Tip: keep driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dangriffin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The outside looks bad, and the lobby smells like smoke.. my first impression was not good, the rooms are ok that is if you get the ones by the lobby on 1st floor...
Since I'm writing this in the night of my stay, i have nothing to say about the breakfast other then the area of where is set does not look presentable

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaywalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#37 of 49 in Des Moines
46 reviews
9.7 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 49 in Des Moines
632 reviews
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#32 of 49 in Des Moines
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#31 of 49 in Des Moines
107 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extend a Suites - Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extend a Suites - Des Moines

Address: 5220 NE 14th St, Des Moines, IA 50313-2006 (Formerly Bavarian Inn - Des Moines)
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: $58 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Extend a Suites - Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bavarian Inn, Des Moines, Iowa, the affordably priced, friendly, full service hotel. Check out our Bavarian Inn Restaurant. Have fun at our Red Baron Lounge. The Bavarian Inn caters and has several meeting facilities for you to plan your next group event with accommodations for groups up to 150 people. The Bavarian Inn features an exercise room, indoor pool and hot tub, consistently clean rooms, friendly staff, cable TV, 24 hour complimentary coffee, morning pastries, and special rates for extended stays. Located on NE 14th St., 3 blocks north of I 80 & I 35 (Exit 136) on the North side of Des Moines with easy access to all parts of the metro area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Extend a Suites - Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Des Moines
Extend a Suites - Des Moines Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing