We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With Caution”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Des Moines
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“With Caution”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here on a Thursday evening, luckily with a friend, not a place I would have stayed alone. The room was spacious, included a refrigerator, coffeemaker and tv. The air conditioning unit was located under the window and was broke, it couldn't be adjusted as to temperature. Our room had not been vacuumed, so I asked to have the room vacuumed. A girl brought the vacuum and walked away! Seriously, I had to vacuum our room. There was a bunch of what looked like crushed crackers on the floor. The floor also sloped toward the bathroom and there was a step up at the bathroom door. The bathtub was not something I would stand in, let alone sit in, so we used towels on the bottom of it so we could shower. The size itself was ok, the beds were comfortable, but the room could use a paint job. They did offer a large breakfast complete with biscuits and gravy, but we weren't told upon check in, we happened upon it looking for ice in the morning. I appreciated the fact that there was both an inside and outside entrance so that if a fire started, we had a easy way out. The building needs many repairs and as part of the Choice Hotel Chain, it isn't even close to the standards I've seen in other Choice Hotels. The best benefit was it was cheap, that is all I would say. I wouldn't stay alone, but traveling with people made it tolerable. Choose something else, would be my recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    8
    5
    24
See reviews for
10
4
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I would not be surprise if this building collapses on itself. The floors are uneven. Our room was not cleaned when we arrived. The bedding was tossed across the room. There was a hole in the ceiling. The bath tub felt as if you could fall through it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Des Moines hotels

Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I presume that the hotel was probably built in the 1960's so it's showing its age but I had a very pleasant stay. Some people are freaked out by the fact that the rooms have both an indoor and an outdoor exit. That's certainly a safer design than a single exit in case of a fire or emergency so I liked it. It also makes it convenient for getting to the lobby or breakfast room if the weather is inclement (which it was for me). Many hotels in this price range are going to be motels with only exterior exits and no interior connection to the lobby.

I found many other good things during my stay:
Spacious room
Solid construction with thick plaster walls
Lots of unexpected perks considering the low price: iron & ironing board, alarm clock, 2 suitcase stands, large desk with good lighting, fast internet, coffee maker, large TV, quiet window A/C with sensitive controls, comfortable bed, very friendly front desk staff at check-in and check-out.
Hot breakfast which I certainly didn't expect to get at a Rodeway Inn at this price.

One truly standout perk was that the bathroom lighting was phenomenal. The lights were so numerous and bright that it was very easy to shave. I'd have to say the bathroom lighting and layout was in the top 5% of the hotels I've stayed at, regardless of price.

Minor downsides:
Some highway and train noise
Neighboring house had a barking dog but it shut up after dark

I agree with the other reviewer who said there's a difference between 'old' and 'dirty'. This place is dated, but not dirty. I'd readily stay there again considering the price.

This was certainly at the top end of the typical Rodeway Inn product line.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMan446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scipio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Even a "bargain" hotel should be clean!! We wouldn't even walk around without our sock or shoes on. Big weird step at doorway upon entering our 2nd floor room. Very small words on door warning of this step. My husband nearly fell handling our suitcases and this badly placed step. Remote would not turn on TV, carpet filthy, couch stained and disgusting, found dead fly in sheets on bed. Needs bulldozed down and condemned. Everything was so outdated, worn out, and smelly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campermomscipio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskogee, Oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Booked this hotel for 3 days to visit family in IA. I was on a budget so I figured this hotel would do. As I pulled up the exterior looked pretty rough and my girlfriend started to check reviews online. Most of the reviews rated this hotel poor but I figured I'd give it a chance and see how the lobby was laid out. The poor reviews about the breakfast were what was the tipping point for my girlfriend. The lobby reeked of old hotel smell and everything was so outdated. It made me wonder for the safety of my girlfriend and I. We ended up canceling and grabbed a room for the next 3 days in Ankeny, IA which was a few miles up the road.

Room Tip: Stay away! Other hotels in the area that are a lot nicer for a few bucks more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris51535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elroy, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

On a road trip with the family and wanted to save a few bucks. Was a great reminder that you get what you pay for. Room was more of less acceptable, but with both an outside and interior exit it felt anything but secure. Door frames looked as if they have held dozens of different security devices over the years. There are no connecting rooms at this hotel, so was not up to par for traveling with children. Took a look at the breakfast offered and didn't bother to eat anything. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was staying on the top floor and could literally feel the floor "squishing" beneath my feet. It felt like I was going to punch right through the floor. I think it had rotted away. I did not take my shoes off to walk around the room and felt nervous all night. I stay in hotels for at lest 4 months out of the year, so I see a lot. This was beyond anything I had ever experienced. I am suprised that it hasn't been condemned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1971hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#29 of 49 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#34 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Of Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
5.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Des Moines

Property: Rodeway Inn Des Moines
Address: 5020 Northeast 14th Street, Des Moines, IA 50313
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn Des Moines 1.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Des Moines Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing