We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still having nightmares from this place...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
American Inn & Suites
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
scipio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still having nightmares from this place...”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Even a "bargain" hotel should be clean!! We wouldn't even walk around without our sock or shoes on. Big weird step at doorway upon entering our 2nd floor room. Very small words on door warning of this step. My husband nearly fell handling our suitcases and this badly placed step. Remote would not turn on TV, carpet filthy, couch stained and disgusting, found dead fly in sheets on bed. Needs bulldozed down and condemned. Everything was so outdated, worn out, and smelly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campermomscipio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    8
    5
    24
See reviews for
10
4
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskogee, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Booked this hotel for 3 days to visit family in IA. I was on a budget so I figured this hotel would do. As I pulled up the exterior looked pretty rough and my girlfriend started to check reviews online. Most of the reviews rated this hotel poor but I figured I'd give it a chance and see how the lobby was laid out. The poor reviews about the breakfast were what was the tipping point for my girlfriend. The lobby reeked of old hotel smell and everything was so outdated. It made me wonder for the safety of my girlfriend and I. We ended up canceling and grabbed a room for the next 3 days in Ankeny, IA which was a few miles up the road.

Room Tip: Stay away! Other hotels in the area that are a lot nicer for a few bucks more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris51535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Des Moines hotels

Elroy, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

On a road trip with the family and wanted to save a few bucks. Was a great reminder that you get what you pay for. Room was more of less acceptable, but with both an outside and interior exit it felt anything but secure. Door frames looked as if they have held dozens of different security devices over the years. There are no connecting rooms at this hotel, so was not up to par for traveling with children. Took a look at the breakfast offered and didn't bother to eat anything. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was staying on the top floor and could literally feel the floor "squishing" beneath my feet. It felt like I was going to punch right through the floor. I think it had rotted away. I did not take my shoes off to walk around the room and felt nervous all night. I stay in hotels for at lest 4 months out of the year, so I see a lot. This was beyond anything I had ever experienced. I am suprised that it hasn't been condemned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1971hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel was absolutely horrendous. I booked it because I figured I'd save a few bucks and it was a Choice Hotel, I didn't read any reviews. I pulled up and immediately started getting worried. Checked in, went to inspect the room, was just awful. Everything was awful. Like, it wasn't overrun with sewage, but might as well of been. I stayed for about 20 minutes to book a hotel stay at another hotel in town (Econolodge on Merle Hay).

The door locks facing the outside weren't working properly, refridgerator was dirty, just, I can't even list it all.

Due to it being a non-refund, ended up eating the money I spent to book it, but I just wasn't going to risk it to stay there. They ended up charging me an extra $58 at check out. So, I spent more on this POS than I did at the hotel I usually stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
332 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This motel does meet my basic needs, clean bed and hot water. It also had a bunch of stuff I don't use ... hair dryer, fridge, coffee maker, TV and breakfast. It is an old motel, it shows more in the halls than in the room.

As I write this review, Trip Advisor now displays some prior reviews next to where I type, my reply to those is ... This is a 'Rodeway Inn,' even their website says "Rodeway Inn is the perfect brand when traveling on a budget." 'Budget' is another way for saying this is not your top end motel. To me, there is a difference between 'dirty' and 'old,' I did not find anything 'dirty' in my stay at this motel.

... and I found this motel pretty much in line with their other Rodeway/Ecno line of motels.

Check-in staff was friendly as was the checkout staff.

Tonight this motel was the same price as the Motel 6 next door and I'm not a fan of the beds at the '6.

Unless someplace close is $10 plus dollars less, I'll be back.

This was my first night on the road in over a year so I forgot to bring my camera with, so no photo's on this one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Even the bed bugs would not stay here. We went in to our room and decided there was no possible way we could stay there. It was filthy, mattresses were torn, doors did not lock. The carpet had a film on it. The sleeper sofa was so filthy and torn up I doubt the Goodwill would even take it. Avoid this hotel!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sosteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#34 of 48 in Des Moines
25 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Des Moines
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#31 of 48 in Des Moines
465 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn & Suites

Property: American Inn & Suites
Address: 5020 NE 14th Street, Des Moines, IA 50313 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Des Moines)
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — American Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your American Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Rodeway Inn
American Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing