We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$175
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
$152
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
$187
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$139
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
43
64
43
22
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
64
43
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswells fargo arenastayed herewalking distanceconcert nightveterans memorialwafflesnice size poolstate basketball tournamenthy veeattending a concertfront desk staffriver walkconvenient locationvending machinedowntown des moinescapital buildinggreat view of the river
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 182 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile

I was hesitant to book my stay but it was so close to the convention center I decided to give it a try. I am glad I did. The hotel was remodeled. They did a great job of updating the features. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helped me out printing a document. The is a nice size pool for families but there isn't a hot tub. The fitness center is well done but they need to get some weights and other type of machines besides treadmills. Otherwise I loved my stay!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank jlutt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Jay,
Thanks for the kind words about your stay. We will take your comments into consideration when doing more updates.

Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

In town for a concert so price was very high compared to other two nights I stayed. Room was clean, bed comfortable, wifi worked better than most hotels. Hotel has been renovated since the last time I was there (several years ago). Rooms are much improved but there is no longer a restaurant on 2nd floor. Missed that. Only had to walk across the street to Wells Fargo. Staff was helpful when tv remote quit working. Brought a new one to the room. Appreciated having mini fridge and microwave. It was hot in Des Moines and room faced west. Got warm in afternoon so I had to turn ac to a lower temperature to be comfortable. Bathroom is very small compared to most hotels.

Room Tip: In summer, request room that faces east
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelingDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are loving all the new renovations as well.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017

Visiting VA in Des Moines, beautiful hotel and wonderful staff. Would stay again anytime! Good location, near VA. Walking distance to Wells Fargo arena. Right off I 235. Restaurants very close by. Shuttle service A+

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lftyltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We always try to do our best to make sure our guests are taken of. Hope to see you again in the future.

Melissa Metcalf
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

Great location across from arena and close to downtown. They upgraded me to 7th floor overlooking river and had a great view. Free breakfast in morning. Staff friendly and helpful. Very clean room and felt safe. Will stay again on next trip.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

Thank you taking the time to tell us about your stay. I'm glad to hear that you had a positive experience. We hope to see you again in the future.

Melissa Metcalf
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night while driving out west. It was clean and the room was updated and nice. The beds were comfy and the air worked well .The breakfast in the morning was a standard breakfast. It had waffles, eggs, ham , toast,cereal ,etc. The staff kept it well stock . The breakfast eating area was large and spacious. It was located right off the highway. Would stay again.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Jessica,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback.

Hope to see you again the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews