We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Des Moines Sport Show”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were doing a Fishing/Hunting Sport Show at the Event Center and stayed at the hotel for three nights. We received a spacious room with two double beds. When we opened the door we received a blast of hot air of 90 degrees. From the previous cold weather and high winds the windows had sweated and left large pools of water on the window ledge that was soaked up with towels. Maintenance came by later and removed the towels. I turned down the heat to 70 degrees and the room was OK during our stay with no further water incidents.
Nice hotel but no microwave, fridge or laundry. Breakfast was included but no restaurant.
Facility was within walking distance of the Arena and the Events Center.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourista47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 164 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

loved the hotel. rooms where clean although after being gone for the day the only thing that was done to our room was the bed made and clean towels. No cleaning was done at all. Not that we made a big mess but coffee stuff was still on the counter. I had to wipe it down same as in the bathroom. The desk staff was very accommodating and friendly. I would stay there again. It was a little noisey the first night then we figured out how to make the fan run all of the time and slept great the next night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our stay was very mediocre. Room was clean however was very stuffy & difficult to regulate temp. We choose this hotel as it was close to the Wells Fargo Arena however, I wouldn't stay again. We stopped by the hotel bar before & after our event and we were ignored the first time and had poor service the second time. Clearly the staff had no interest in being there or making any money. When we requested additional towels, we had no issues. They even brought them up to our room. Upon checking out, one of the staff members yelled at us down the hall asking if we were checking out, we replied yes. An extreme odor of marijuana was lingering throughout our floor. Very unpleasant.

Room Tip: Overall our stay was just poor. And if you are looking for a hot tub, good luck! Not one here. Un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildFan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Few things grab my attention quicker than an ear-piercing hotel fire alarm. My wife and I had settled into our room on the top floor (seventh) of this hotel when the fire alarm sounded. Not knowing whether the fire alarm was "false" or not, my wife and I grabbed our immediate valuables and trudged down the seven floors of stairwell, noticing a distinct smell of cigarette smoke on the floor as we did so. Once in the lobby, we were casually informed by the front desk receptionist that the alarm was "false" and that she was "sorry." When a fire alarm is screeching, that's not a false alarm. At least not until an investigation by the hotel clearly determines that to be true. As my wife and I rode the elevator back to our seventh-floor room, accompanied by two hotel security individuals, we expected to get some type of feedback from the hotel manager on duty. We're still waiting. Not impressed with how the hotel handled this potentially dangerous situation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

the bed was uncomfortable.
The A/C rattled all night and the toilet ran as well, making more noise and wasting water-staff said they'd make a note of it when I complained.
Breakfast was horrid.
We stayed here for the Iowa State Fair. It was about 10 mins away so that was the only thing going for it.

Room Tip: if you want a good room, find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omertoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel while on a business trip. It's definitely a great option for being right in the middle of downtown Des Moines, and staff are great. Internet was fast, bed comfy; what more can you ask for for a few nights? I had an issue with the lamp in my room, and after calling the front desk, someone had come up and replaced it for me in minutes! I definitely recommend for anyone looking for a decent night stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a nice room and convenient location in the city. The AAA listing said the hotel had a hot tub. Did not and that was a disappointment. Enjoyed the exercise room and it had several machines. Receptionist was very helpful and friendly. Only caffeinated tea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishVermonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center

Address: 929 3rd St, Des Moines, IA 50309-1324 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Event Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: $103 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center is located next to the Iowa Events Center which includes Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, and the Community Choice Credit Union/Veterans Memorial Auditorium. We are simple to find at the intersection of I-235 and 3rd Street in Downtown Des Moines. Close to the entertainment and business districts as well as the Iowa State Capital and government buildings. The Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center is the only downtown Des Moines hotel that offers free parking, complimentary deluxe breakfast buffet, and free Wi-Fi throughout the entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Event Center
Quality Inn & Suites Event Hotel Des Moines
Quality Inn Event Center
Quality Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Quality Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing