We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too shabby” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Event Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Event Center
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
St. Anthony, ID
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not too shabby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night, and was happy to get a decent rate. The front desk staff was friendly. Our room was decent. It was in need of some updating. My son accidently turned on the heater instead of the AC and it smelled terrible. Granted, it probably hadn't been turned on in a while. We had a great view and the breakfast was great. The only major complaint was that there was a storm that hit pretty hard, and there was water coming from the window and the ceiling pretty badly. If we weren't about ready to check out we would have definitely asked for another room. We told the front desk and they got right on it. They probably had a mess to clean up because there was so much water coming in. But we appreciate the fact that they didn't just brush it off.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pack214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    40
    22
    11
See reviews for
40
35
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

They were very busy when we went to check in and upon finding out that the motel was full of high school volleyball players I was worried about the noise as we were here for an important test for my daughter. I told this to the staff and they were very accommodating working with us to find a quiet room away from the players. We had a great clean room with a very good breakfast every morning. The only thing I would like to see is a hot tub. The pool was nice, but a hot tub would have made us give this a 5.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for only one night. We booked it because of the price and the location. Honestly, that's the only thing this hotel has going for it. The room was dirty, smelled extremely smokey, and there were stains on the chairs. I would only recommend staying at the hotel if you are just using this hotel as literally a place to sleep, like we did. It's location is fantastic, but if you are planning on staying on more than one night I would suggest staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The view of the Capitol Building from this hotel is impressive. We went to the Cubs baseball game and the stadium is nearby. The breakfast was great. Fresh scrambled eggs, waffles, blueberry squares-all were great! We really enjoyed this hotel in such a great location. Housekeeping accomodated our needs(since we stayed there several days). The room and premises were kept very clean and we had a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Iowa State Capitol!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

The hotel is located close to the Iowa Cubs Ball Stadium. (That is a plus for us) The hotel is pretty average. The WIFI could be better. I lost signal several times. (But in my opinion-was better than previous stays) The telephone line had a very loud hum, which made it difficult to make future Choice reservations. I had to ask the agent to repeat several times.
There was no light/heat bulb in the bathroom. It had been taken out and not replaced.
The rooms don't have enough outlets. (Conveniently located) We (2 of us) have two laptops and a couple cell phones, it's hard to find a place to plug them in. We carry a power stripe but then we have cords running in several directions. I spilled a soda when I bumped a cord.
The breakfast was satifactory for us.
I don't believe we have ever booked this hotel in the price range that Trip Advisor shows. The price is about $20-$30 more than we pay for similar rooms in other cites. We come back because of the location.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bawinasap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We recently stayed here for the PBR at the Wells Fargo Arena which was less than a 5 minute walk away. I will say it was totally worth not fighting traffic as we were back at our room having cocktails watching people wait to get out of the parking lots across the street. As far as the hotel and the room itself, it's good but basic. Not a lot of bells and whistles but the rooms were clean, didn't wreak of smoke, and the showers had decent water pressure. Another reviewer noted the bar/restaurant has odd hours and I would agree with that (opened at 4pm the night we checked in). The room also came with a voucher for free breakfast the next morning in the restaurant area which was muffins, cereal, toast, scrambled eggs, sausage, juice and coffee. When we showed up for breakfast, A LOT was already picked over and the one waffle station had a line 6 people deep. Goes to show, early bird gets the waffle!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank castravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
323 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is a large, downtown hotel. It has all the usual amenities and includes a pub and a large indoor swimming pool.

The room was clean, neat, and well appointed.

It was pretty pricey, but any hotel this close to the sports arena is bound to be. There were all sorts of events going on in town the night we stayed, so getting a seat at a restaurant was difficult. But we just walked up and they had rooms available. (no reservation)

With the included hot breakfast, I'd give it a 4 on the 5 scale.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CommanderChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#10 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Event Center

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Event Center
Address: 929 3rd Street, Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Event Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Event Hotel Des Moines
Quality Inn And Suites Event Center
Quality Inn Event Center
Quality Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Event Center Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing