We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business/Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Ottumwa, IA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Business/Family Hotel”
Reviewed April 25, 2008

For a business hotel, this was a great place to stay with my family. Nice clean room, clean lobby, and friendly hotel staff. Pool and whirlpool were very clean. Pool was for registered guest only. Have to have key card to go in. This is much nicer than hotels that sell pool passes. Being an economy hotel, it does not have a lot of extras. Only one ice machine on the main floor, but with the money you are saving, it is worth it. I like the fact that it is promoting saving the environment by teaching hotel guests how to conserve. This hotel will be our go to place in Des Moines.

  • Liked — Quietness of hotel.
  • Disliked — Only once ice machine in the building.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BarwickJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
33
18
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2008

I stayed at the hotel for a dog show. I traveled with 3 dogs(Dobermans). The hotel staff was nice, the rooms were very clean (they had white comforters on the bed).

I stayed in a room with two double beds, it was cozy having 2 large dog crates in the room, but still could move around.

There was plenty of room to walk the dogs.

It is directly across the street from the fairgrounds so the drive to the show was short.

Only one downfall was the parking lot was full! Had to park on street the first night.

We went up University St/Blvd/Rd? about 10 minutes and found some cute restuarants near the college. Excellent Pizza Joint.

Overall, it was a great experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — No parking available first night.
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DogShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

I booked this hotel because I got a discount through work (the price was already really cheap) and it was right next to the fairgrounds. I was a bit worried because I wasn't familiar with Des Moines and the price was so much lower than other hotels. The hotel is new (still has a "Now Open" sign on it). The room was small but didn't feel cramped because it was laid out well. It was spotless! I felt like I had been the first person to stay in that room. They had all the cable channels we get at home plus HBO. As the previous review mentions, the heat wasn't turned on and it was subzero outside so the room was a bit cool. It heated up fast. The heater takes some fine tuning so you aren't roasting or cold. It was very quiet, I heard nothing from adjoining rooms and very little through the door. I like that they have information encouraging people to help the environment by reusing towels. I'd highly recommend this hotel as a great value, quiet and clean!

  • Liked — Super clean
  • Disliked — Heating
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danewillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

I booked this based on the price, $67.50 a night for a King Suite.
This is a fairly new property, room was very clean.
Not as fancy as a Marriott or Hilton property but very nice.
Bed was comfortable. Only minus was the heating, it was off when I arrived and the room was freezing cold. I turned the heat on and left for a couple of hours. After that it stayed warm but the heater stays either on or off, no auto temp. You can adjust the temp and hi or low but it stays on and does not turn on and off like a central unit does. This was only a minor thing however.
Shower was good and hot, good water pressure.
Bathroom is a bit small but this an economy class hotel. It was adequate and clean. WiFi was fine and free. Nice T.V. but limited cable channels, no biggie for me though.
Pretty quiet through the night, slept good.
Breakfast they had waffles, B&G, good coffee and juice, cereal and friuts. Pretty decent for a Choice property about up to par with a Hampton or Marriot. It is included as well. Also they have a good selections of tea.
The area is not the greatest but there are several fast food joints and a Quiktrip up the street. This is next to the State Fair Grounds so one could expect it to not be lavish.
You have to drive 7-10 miles to get to the better resturaunts but you can jump right on I-235 or cruise down University Dr (take the interstate). For the price this was a steal. I am pretty picky about hotels being clean, they don't have to be fancy but cleanliness is mandatory. This one was sparkling clean!
I recommend if you want inexpensive.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank TCBinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
106 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Hill
78 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
596 reviews
8.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Des Moines
103 reviews
4.1 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#35 of 48 in Des Moines
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 410 E 30th St, Des Moines, IA 50317-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Des Moines
Des Moines Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing