We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I know it's an Econo Lodge, but . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I know it's an Econo Lodge, but . . .”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

All should know first off one side of the hotel sits on a very busy street (loud trucks/motorcycles going by constantly). We got a "suite" which consisted of two "double" beds and a softbed. Definitely roomy, however, there were four of us staying in this room (a room that the website accommodates up to six) and there is one mirror above the sink in the bathroom. A few more mirrors in the actual room would be extremely helpful. I'm not sure where they found the double beds -- my husband and I barely fit in the bed and at 5'9", his feet were off the edge! Also, our son couldn't use the sheets on the sofabed because they were like "cardboard". There was a horse show in town when we stayed and the breakfast area is extremely small and definitely not enough room to accommodate all who wished to eat. Definitely some improvements need to be made.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilene50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are working on some updates and all reviews help us to know which areas still need to be addressed . Thank you Heather Clair GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
32
18
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I am a disabled veteran on kidney dialysis, which always makes long-distance travel a challenge. But I refuse to be defined by kidney disease. Grateful to have lived long enough to reach the age of 50, I decided to celebrate the Big 5-0 by taking a vacation to Des Moines, I chose the Econo Lodge because it was cheaper than staying downtown, and was on a city bus line (very important to me, because I choose a car-free life), A fairly new facility, my room was a wheelchair-accessible suite on the !st floor with microwave and refrigerator, free Wi-Fi, a flat-screen TV, and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast had a good variety of items: bagels, donuts, make-your-own waffles, mini-omelets, biscuits and gravy, and fruit.

The location was in a quiet, blue-collar neighborhood right across the street from the Iowa State Fairgrounds. Right across the street is a bus stop for Des Moines Area Regional Transit's #1 route--only a 15 minute trip to downtown (please keep in mind that bus service ends around 5 PM daily...) Restaurants and shopping was within walking distance on University Avenue (I walk with a cane, and it took me less than 15 minutes...)

I wish to single out two people for going above and beyond on customer service. Heather was kind enough to let me store my luggage and food temporarily, since no early check-in was offered and I needed to get to kidney dialysis near downtown and did not want to carry all that stuff with me. And Kendra was really sweet, baking her homemade sugar cookies and offering me extra (because I was greedy...) As a proud employee of Taco Bell who works in the service/hospitality industry, I know that little things can mean a lot...

All in all, a pleasant experience. If my travels take me to Des Moines again, I will definitely consider returning here again. Compared to other Econo Lodge facilities I have stayed at, this one was among the best

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Choo-Choo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We absolutely enjoyed having you here, and if you travel this way again please come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Fairly new hotel right across the street from the state fairgrounds..Reasonable rates, Had a large room w/sitting area, micro & fridge combo,wifi Very nice breakfast w/ several choices..Very clean and quiet.- friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.Only complaint was--the only ice machine was in a very inconvenient area (for me at least)-1st floor by the indoor pool

Room Tip: had 3rd floor room -very bright and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again in the future. We are always changing up the menu for the breakfast items and trying to find new ways to make your stay even more enjoyable than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The location for this trip to the state fair was fabulous. The room was nice and right across the street.. They alternate what they serve for breakfast - the bacon and eggs were good, but the next day, it was sausage gravy that was not good, and biscuits that were. However, they have donuts, bagels, waffles, etc. We did not need the biscuits and gravy with all the other starches. Some cups of fruit and apples were also available, along with plenty of juice, milk and coffee. Easy check in and out. Many good restaurants in the area and shopping not too far away. It was not difficult to find the Hotel or move around in this part of the city. We would definitely stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Lobby smelled of smoke. Room was tired. Very roomy, though. We got it for free, so we shouldn't complain, but I probably wouldn't pay to stay. The breakfast had only apples for me as I can't eat wheat. Nice staff. Frig and microwave and sofa in king-bed room. It was quiet that night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogirlWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
I'm sorry that you didn't have a great experience with us, however we have recently undergone a change in management staff. We are also working diligently to renovate and upgrade our rooms. I hope you come back to view some of the changes. I will also find a broader variety of breakfast items to be certain that all our guest get to enjoy the most important meal of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This is a relative new property that typically has low occupance except for when events are taking place at the Iowa State Fairgrounds which is across the street. The neighborhood is very blue collar but I always feel safe and comfortable. This is my hotel of choice in Des Moines. It is a really nice home away from home. the rooms are clean and well maintained. The desk staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vancamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Have stayed here before with better results. The location is prime, right outside the fairgrounds.

So here goes...
We checked in and dropped our luggage, went over to the show and then dinner so we were back about 9 PM. First thing, the toilet stops up and right next to the toilet is a plunger (1st clue) and we went to work. We called down to the desk after fifteen or twenty minutes of unsuccessful plunging and were told that he was alone and could not leave the desk. No problem I said, we could just switch rooms to which he replied, "Sorry all sold out!". I asked what we were supposed to do and he replied that we would have to wait until morning!

Next morning, I went down to check out and was told the manager would not be in for another couple of hours. I then checked the computer in the lobby and found my account had 3 charges totaling $580 and change for one $90 night. Needless to say I was very upset and decided to go to breakfast and come back to see the manager.

The manager was sorry for the inconvenience, comped the room and got the pending charges removed temporarily from my account. Unfortunately, while we were on the road two days later two of those charges popped back up on my account. I called the hotel and was told the manager would call back, he did not. I called my bank and they were successful in removing them once and for all.

The erroneous charges came about because my original reservation (made six weeks in advance) was for the week. I had called to amend my original reservation to just one night the weekend before and they did not make the change. So when we arrived the second night of the original reservation we were charged for that and two more single night charges (can't explain these).

Love Iowa and the fairgrounds. The Econo Lodge is convenient for that.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeahorseSecrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
8.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#34 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
8.0 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#29 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 410 E 30th St, Des Moines, IA 50317-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Des Moines
Des Moines Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing