We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We wanted a nice hotel within walking distance of the Cubs game. I'm very glad I picked this one. It's only been open a couple weeks and I don't think our room had ever been used. Perfect location. Two blocks to Principal Park. Two blocks to Court Avenue. One block to El Bait Shop for the best beer selection in Iowa. The hotel is beautifully decorated, the staff was very friendly, and the room was outstanding on all counts. Definitely my new go to hotel in Des Moines.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank bkoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 579 of 579 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Was really happy to find this hotel was open for business; Residence Inn is on the same block and adjoins the Hampton Inn…entrance is on the corner of SW Water and Vine. No sign up yet. I am sure we were the first to occupy the king size room. Everything was new and sparkling and smelled fresh. Staff were excellent and systems for checking in are still being smoothed out. Our room had a bathroom door that scraped the floor, making a terrible racket. When I told the desk upon checkout, she immediately make a repair ticket out, so immediate attention to our comment was recorded. Was not too happy with the bed as I prefer firm and I thought this was too soft. Also, not a fan of high mattresses as I am short and have to scoot up…this was a minor problem. The location is about one block away from the ICubs park, over the bridge from the East Village, and one-half block from the Court Avenue district. Our room faced the Des Moines River. Overnight parking is $15/night and you use your room key card to go in and out. We were able to park on the same floor as our room which was very convenient. Very good free breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Gorgeous building, friendly staff, and amazing facilities. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Was able to use the workout room, grab a snack after, and use the refreshing hot tub. Wish I could have the breakfast every day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

No advance reservations were available online because the hotel was having a "soft opening." This was my first experience to stay in a hotel that had been open for less than one week and I was IMPRESSED. Just stopped in by chance to see if they were open and I was delighted to make a reservation on the spot, at $160,the price was very competitive with other downtown hotels that I had considered. The lobby is beautifully decorated and furnished...modern with touches of natural elements. The dining area for the free breakfast is well appointed with all forms of seating...tables and chairs or a long family style table with tall bar chairs, a large flat screen TV on one wall. Several unique chandeliers hang over the long table, kudos to the professional decorator on a job well done. Our room was just as impressive with plenty of space with 2 queen beds. We had a microwave and refrigerator. Beds and bedding are plush, I hope they are able to maintain the white comforters (I have 4 boys so that is impossible at my house!). High end furniture for the room and the bathroom give this inn&suites the feel of a much pricier Renaissance brand hotel. The room was quiet, no a/c noise at all...just sweet dreams. The staff was courteous and helpful as they were all learning the ropes. There is an indoor pool and spa with plenty of seating. Walk outside and you will find a beautifully landscaped courtyard with tables, chairs, chaise lounges and a basketball court shared with the Residence Inn which is almost adjacent. We had attended an Iowa Cubs baseball game and walked back to the hotel after the game. We were able to park on the street overnight for free on a Sunday night, but by 8 am you have to start putting coins in the meter, the price is very reasonable. Garage parking is available for $15 a day, also the going rate at any other downtown hotel. Overall, I would consider this the "State of the Art" Hampton Inn & Suites. I will be booking my next reservation well in advance, this hotel is going to be very popular!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 518...we had a great view of the river, the east side of downtown, and the Iowa Cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank busymomof4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled on business
Thank alsonat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGCC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 48 in Des Moines
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown

Address: 120 SW Water St, Des Moines, IA 50309-4703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $149 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new Hampton Inn & Suites overlooks the Des Moines River in the heart of downtown. Guests enjoy spacious rooms and suites with free WiFi, refrigerator, microwave and ergonomic work space. Free hot breakfast is served daily. A large fitness area and indoor swimming pool are available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing