We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Urban B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butler House on Grand

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Des Moines
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butler House on Grand
Ranked #1 of 4 Des Moines B&B and Inns
Pacific Palisades, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous Urban B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2008

Ended up at the Butler House because all the major hotels were full due to the Iowa caucuses. What luck! For my taste, there is no better place to stay in Des Moines, period. Staying here is like staying at a graceful country inn, but you're minutes away from the heart of the city. The rooms are absolutely lovely - mine had hand-painted furniture by a local artist. There's free wireless internet, cold drinks available for the taking any time, and the morning breakfasts were terrific. Your hosts are among the most delightful innkeepers you'd ever want to meet. I can't recommend this place more highly, and I'll certainly be back everytime I'm near Des Moines.

  • Liked — Large, comfortable room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bvanderet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    7
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
26
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2007

We had a delightful stay at the Butler House. After living in Des Moines for six years, and having moved away eight years ago, we wanted to go back for a visit. We wanted to see our old haunts, but also wanted to do something special for our anniversary.
The two nights we stayed at the Butler House helped make this a very special trip. The rooms were wonderful, the breakfasts well prepared, and Clark and Lauren were attentive without being smothering.
If you like the big name, big box, chain hotel/motel, this is probably not for you. If you appreciate the charm and ambiance of a fine Bed and Breakfast, the Butler House is just the ticket.

  • Liked — Abiance and charm
  • Disliked — No real negatives.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BoppaChooChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2007

The Butler House is immaculate. We spent one night there while on our way to Omaha via Amana colonies. We were not disappointed! And I am PICKY!

Clark and his wife (lauren?) are helpful yet do not 'hover' like other BandB owners you may have run into at other establishments.

They upgraded us for free to the best suite room. It is amazing and is filled with all handmade furniture. They bathroom and tub are divine and the bedding is sublime. We ended up staying in the room for dinner and simply eating popcorn, rather than leaving our cozy nest for the night.

There is a park right across the street from the house, and we walked for about 5 miles thru a very pretty wooded area. I guess the park goes on for 50 miles! It is very very pretty and uncrowded. Like Central Park without the craziness :)

Do stay here if you are in town - you will like it for sure!

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meowlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2005

We just came back from a five day stay at the Butler House in Des Moines and can't say enough nice things about it. This is just a gem of a B&B. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast was great, the location is fabulous, literally minutes from everything. Clark and Lauren were warm, thoughtful hosts who take pride in what they do and provide the small amenities that really distinguish a good experience from a great one. We really couldn't have asked for anything more and will definitely stay there again and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank QOTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2005

Stayed at Butler House a couple years ago, and enjoyed it immensely. Beautiful home, beautifully decorated, with wonderful service and hospitality. You would pay double the money for the same quality here in the Northeast.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sasthije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2005

This was our first visit to Des Moines, Iowa (Oct. 2004) and we had booked a four night stay at Butler House on Grand. Clark and Lauren were extremely nice via e-mail, telephone and in person. When we arrived we were taken to our room. We were very surprised when we saw the windows coated in ladybugs/lady beetles. They seem to have taken over Des Moines in the past few years due to some hybrid the government has brought in to help with the soy crops. We began to notice that the bugs were crawling all over the walls and ceiling also. I asked Clark about the situation and he told me they had a problem with that room (Greenwood) and that they had vacuumed the bugs out earlier and they would do so again that evening. He also stated that the bugs were "harmless". First of all I know different because my father-in-law has been telling me for the past three years how they bite him when he does yard work. Second, regardless of whether they bite, would you like bugs crawling in your ears, nose, and mouth while you sleep. Third, it's way too much money for a room invested with bugs. We did check out immediately and after all was said and done we received a full refund. I highly recommend that you ask about the bugs BEFORE you arrive, so that you are not caught off guard like we were. Let me highly recommend the Radission Des Moines Airport hotel. They were extremely friendly, the rooms were clean and quiet, and the food was good.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travelwannabe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Butler House on Grand, responded to this review, May 2, 2005
We are saddened to see that this response and rating about our property in which we take great pride. For the past two years we do get lady bugs that congregate on the south OUTSIDE of the house for about two weeks early fall. There is absolutely nothing we can do about it. We have called an exterminator in the past and there is nothing that they can do to get rid of Asian lady bugs. Some of the lady bugs do make it into the house. Not as many as the reviwer described. This is unavoidable in a house built in 1923.

The reviewer did not spend ten minutes in our house. She saw the lady bugs on the outside of the window and I could tell she was very distressed by seeing them. I encouraged her to stay someplace else. They were supposed to stay four nights. We did not charge her anything, even though our policy clearly states we have the right to.

We enjoy our guests and meeting their needs. I hope other readers will ignore the above review and give us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
2.7 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler House on Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler House on Grand

Property: Butler House on Grand
Address: 4507 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50312-2401
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the oldest B&B in Des Moines. We have been featured in the New York Times, Des Moines Register and many other publications. We enjoy making your stay in Des Moines memorable. Please come and stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butler House On Grand Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing