We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Room in an Amazing City!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Room in an Amazing City!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

There are not enough words to explain how wonderful our stay here was. From the early check-in(we arrived sometime around 11) to the wonderful hotel staff and more. Our room was perfect and modern. I loved the layout of everything. The shower was really cool(definitely want that kind in my future home). Breakfast was simply amazing!! We loved all the choices available to us. I liked that, not only could we take our food to our room, but that they also had nice seating areas with tvs in the lobby for individual tables. The lady keeping all the food hot and making sure there was enough was really nice in helping us out with the waffle irons. I loved the security of using the hotel room key to access the elevators. The free internet was definitely a big plus for us. We came to DSM for our wedding/short honeymoon and I am so glad I stayed in the hotel. We now plan on moving to the DSM area and will forever use this hotel the next few years when we visit.

I wish I knew all the names of the employees who were so helpful to us so I could personally give them some credit here.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room that faces the parking garage, less likely to be woken up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Congratulations on your recent nuptials!!!
We are so happy to be have been a part of this blessed event.
It warms our hearts knowing we enhanced your stay with great service, amazing food and a perfect room.
Please revisit us again very soon.
Thank you for being here with us and for taking the time to write such a memorable review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    56
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
39
24
5
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottumwa, Iowa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel opened in January 2014. It is a nice hotel. Excellent service. The hotel is located next to the railroad tracks is my only complaint. Great location for visiting the civic center, science center, and the farmers' market.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler13333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are happy to hear you experienced the excellent service we pride ourselves on.
Of course being a new property we love knowing our guests have a chance to take advantage of our great location in the heart of downtown, close to everything.
Thanks for staying with us and for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I recently stayed at this location for two nights while in Des Moines for an interview. Since I was searching for a location in the downtown area, I ended up choosing this particular place because of the price. (It was a little disappointing to have to pay $15 a night for parking; I should've read the fine print.) The staff were all very attentive and accommodating. The food was fine. The room and everything in it was up to date and very clean. If I ever build a new house, I will include a shower like the one in my room. My room was on the 5th floor. My guest and I were pleasantly surprised when we heard the train horn, looked out the window, and a train was on the tracks heading to the river. We both thought it was awesome! I will definitely stay here again if in town and would highly recommend to others. I'd say this hotel should rate higher than the #12 hotel in Des Moines.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Great price, convenient downtown location, attentive staff and the added bonus of a train.
Sounds like a wonderful combination.
Thanks for sharing your experience and letting us know we are a hotel your would recommend and best of all visit again.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday in February 2014. The decorations were wonderful, the room was very comfortable, and the location was perfect. It was so close to all of our favorite restaurants and bars that we barely felt the winter weather on our way to and from.

We stayed on a Saturday, so parking on the street was free. Just a note that parking at a meter during the week can be pricey, but the hotel does have a parking ramp. Unfortunately, our view was of the ramp and construction equipment outside. I'm hoping the view will become a nice garden or something when it's done.

The pool wasn't anything to write home about, but it was very enjoyable. We didn't like that the hot tub has to warm up, but I appreciate the green effort. Also, the front desk allowed us to stay a little later while the heat rose.

We slept so well that we never heard the train others mentioned. Everything in the room worked fine and the breakfast provided was delicious. Overall, this was one of the best hotels we've stayed in the Des Moines area, especially downtown. We plan on staying again sometime soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying at the new Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown.
We are pleased you found the accommodations to be comfortable, and took advantage of our great location (1 block from the Court Ave Entertainment District.
The best part is hearing about your plans to return and stay with us again.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I recently stayed here on business. The hotel is well appointed, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The desk area was large with ample outlets for all of your electronics. The bathroom was very generous, especially the shower. I liked that you were not standing on a floor drain while showering as the drain is on the end of the shower. The bed was firm without being hard. The evening socials and dinners are a great extra, especially in bad weather. The location is convenient to sites downtown and local restaurants. Ramp parking was also welcome in the cold. There is a $15 fee for parking. The trains do shake the building when they go buy so if you are a light sleeper, that may be a problem. Overall, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We appreciate that you have taken the time to review our property after your recent stay.
We are extremely pleased you experienced all the amenities we hope our guests will experience.
Friendly staff, large room, spacious bathroom - an overall comfortable environment.
Plus enjoying the bonus of our complimentary meals.
A satisfied guest - all we can ask for.
Hopefully we will see you again some time soon.
Thanks again for staying with us and for your review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Joshua, Tyler and Darryl were the best! Rooms are nice and have full kitchens. They will shop for you if you give them a list
Be sure you ask for a high floor to avoid the train noise and vibration at all hours of the night
Will definitely ale this my he when travels bring me to Des Moines

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Irishshamrock2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks for recognizing the efforts of my team members to enhance your stay and experience at our brand new property.
We are glad you appreciated all the amenities, such a grocery shopping, provided free of charge.
Nice to know we made this your "Home Away from Home".
See you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLEAR LAKE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We pulled in on a Saturday evening after a very long day. A recent funeral and other issues left us completely drained.I also am recovering from a broken ankle. A young man toke control of the situation and put us in a very quite and accommodating room. We ordered some very good local pizza and comfortably let a long day slip away. Thanks Residence!

Room Tip: This hotel loves reward members!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjshideout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
I am genuinely thrilled to hear we helped you hit the pause button on a long day and journey with superb service and sincere caring.
We reached our goal and yours as well during this brief stay.
Hopefully the lasting impression will prompt you to return under less trying circumstances to further enjoy the hotel, staff and area.
Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#10 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Address: 100 SW Water St, Des Moines, IA 50309-4703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Residence Inn by Marriott, the only all- suite, extended stay hotel in downtown Des Moines sits on the scenic river, close to Principal Park, Court Avenue Entertainment District, Science Center of Iowa and the Iowa Events Center. We have spacious studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites, all with a living area and a fully equipped kitchen. Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing