We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a nice place!”
Review of Christophers

Christophers
Ranked #72 of 573 Restaurants in Des Moines
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Still a nice place!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Went there on a recent Fri nite to meet friends we hadn't seen for 5 yrs. The bar area was full & lively. We were taken directly to a booth where our server immediately came over, took drink orders & offered the menus while we waited on our friends. Onion rings were yummy, my chicken marsala was equally good. I was disappointed to see they no longer offer Chicken Cordon Bleu (like they did 25 yrs ago, when I still lived there). Maybe they should offer it again. Our friends had pizza & while I didn't have room to eat any, it looked & smelled delicious. Thin, crispy crust. They were nicely busy but not crowded & we were able to have a leisurely dinner & catch up w/ our friends. Our server was friendly & attentive but not overly fawning. Would def go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hockeymom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Charm with Amazing Food!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I love the laid back feel at Christophers but still being capable of having amazing food! The flavor, taste, and excellence without the pretension. Always great to watch a game here as well!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food in this DSM icon”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

It was good when Zabel first came in and is still good now. You can't go wrong here as the food never disappoints. A Beaverdale icon, but sometimes hard to get in on a Fri-Sat. night.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, IA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very friendly staff, great drinks, reasonably priced, very good food, warm and inviting atmosphere. Great place for an intimate dinner.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chaseins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We dined with friends at this fine restaurant recently. The decor is original "retro". Nice bar area and dining areas - cozy feeling, very comfortable, and quiet. The menu has a good variety and the food was very good. The only down side was our server, who was more taken with himself than with us. He was slow and inattentive in his service. We will go back again because the positives outweigh the one negative.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomc317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christophers also viewed

 

Been to Christophers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing