We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Bonanza. Always too much food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonanza Steakhouse

Bonanza Steakhouse
Ranked #340 of 563 Restaurants in Des Moines
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Love Bonanza. Always too much food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We used to eat at Bonanza in Beatrice, NE when I was growing up. Chopped Steak with Mushrooms everytime! Have eaten here a couple of times when visiting Des Moines. Never disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkAnthony11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place to take the Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I love this place . Great food Low prices . Evertime we get to Des moines we must get here . The buffet is always a great choice to do if you are in a rush . I will be back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bragg1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
334 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“The food was all good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The food was all good, and that is what I came for ... not for the atmosphere

I just ordered the buffet. The host was ready to run through all my options, but I cut them off, no steak.

About ½ the food was labeled, so being a person with food allergies, I had to ask what a couple of items were. Salad bar all looked fresh and what I had all tasted fresh (except the black olives … those I only like fresh out a can.)

Besides two helpings of salad, I also had ‘Oreo whip,’ corn, garlic bread sticks, ham & potato casserole. For mean I had couple of kinds of chicken and meat balls in sausage gravy. The meat balls were better the 1st two helpings, by the 3rd they had lost their appeal :)

Food was all good, the black olives were the only thing I left on my plate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
257 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've reviewed this restaurant before; my son and I take my aunt here for lunch when we come to visit. On this occasion, it had been some time since our last meal here, as my aunt (mid-80s) had been hospitalized and in rehabilitation; this was her first outing after returning home.

The food was fresh, diverse, and enjoyable. But my reason for wanting to update the review is the awesome service we received. Staff welcomed my aunt, were attentive to her needs (she now uses a walker), and made her visit extra-special. They couldn't have been more kind and friendly, and she was delighted.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Solotravel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Good buffet choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I enjoyed the buffet because I love the huge salad bar they had. Also they were able to get the pizza with my choice of toppings

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonanza Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Bonanza Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing