We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let a buffet scare you away”
Review of Bonanza Steakhouse

Bonanza Steakhouse
Ranked #358 of 574 Restaurants in Des Moines
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't let a buffet scare you away”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Typically buffets are gross as well as the people that visit them. Even though I have lived in Des Moines my entire I life, last year was the first time we visited this Bonanza. I was very surprised. It's not a typical buffet where there are swarms of obese people fighting for food. The place is very mellow, very clean & the employees are very nice & attentive. The buffet food is very good as well. Occasionally I do order a lunch from the menu in addition to the salad bar. I can't say that the steak is great. It's what you'd expect. Not good, not awful. I usually just stick to the salad bar & buffet when I come here. Overall it's a quick decent place to go to for lunch on the weekend.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenEdrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny
1 review
“Very good food,staff,selection,salad and desert bar is outstanding.”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

If you have a chance to experience a Bonanza do it. The price and selection of food is outstanding. From the salad bar to main courses and then on to the desert bar is a truely great experience. If you walk away from Bonanza hungry it is your own fault. The Des Moines, Iowa Bonanza is exlemplory.If you are traviling through Des Moines on I-80 and I-35 just make it a point to stop on NE 14th (ext. 136) and pay a visit. You won't be sorry. My wife and myself eat there often and the WINGS are great take out items upon which we are ordering a 50 lot to-go for the super bowl this Sunday.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I look forward to eating here.”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I do trade shows for a living, so I am traveling every weekend. When doing a show in des Moines, I make sure to hit this place at least once. I have never had bad food here, and the staff has always been courteous to me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kansasccw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible, awful!”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This was not a good expierence at all, there was a lack of choices at the buffet..service was lacking and the food was just awful. I will NEVER step foot in another Bonanza again, sad because I used to love this place..go across the street to Montana Mikes it has good food, fast service and its clean ......worth the small price diffrence.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Iowa
1 review
“Great experience!”
Reviewed February 23, 2010

I really enjoyed my dining experience at Bonanza in Des Moines and will definately stop back the next time I'm in town. The staff were great and on top of everything. I even overheard a rather large group (in number and physical size) just nagging about every little thing and putting their waitress through hell. An example was the perfect amount of ice that had to be in their drinks. This restaurant really deserves a higher score than what I gave it, but perfection is impossible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreatMeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonanza Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Bonanza Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing