We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Mile

Royal Mile
Ranked #24 of 569 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful irish pub! Great selection of beer and whiskey. Pub food was excellent, as we share foods between four. Neighborhood looks a little ruff, but it is safe and walking distance to downtown hotels.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Byron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    66
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This is a bar, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a nice casual place to go for a bite to eat and a drink. They also have an outdoor seating/bar area that makes it especially nice for a pleasant dining experience if you don't want to sit in the bar area to eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Trails052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unpretentiously authentic and welcoming ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent beer selection. Food was all delicious and high quality. Service was attentive and efficient. I would come back.

Helpful?
Thank Quonmisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic feeling pub with great beer selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I enjoyed a chicken and leek pasty with organic cherry cider. The ambiance and crowd reminded me of an Irish pub I visited years ago.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gl0balmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Pub Downtown Des Moines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good food, good drink and beer variety, good atmosphere. This is the place to go with friends and family if you want to have a good time and enjoy your conversation with your company. It is busy but not overcrowded and the noise level is down enough to enjoy talking with your party. I also suggest their Saturday morning breakfast at the farmers market held on their patio. Wonderful! A true public house vibe here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Mile also viewed

 
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing