We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection but a little bit run down”
Review of Royal Mile

Royal Mile
Ranked #27 of 574 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great selection but a little bit run down”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Trying to feel like an English Pub, but I've been to 300 year old pubs in England that aren't as run down as this one. Great selection of beer, prompt service, and a lot of people were there so they must be used to it. Would be perfect if they cleaned it up a bit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank msgtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    66
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love Scotch?”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Best English style pub in Iowa ! Authentic feel to atmosphere! Friendly bar tenders ,staff and patrons. Did not eat but heard good things, authentic beers and best wall o' Scotch in Iowa! Go try the Ardbeg 10 yr, and the Glenmorangie Nector D' Or; different styles & both amazing. I always take out of town clients here and they always enjoy Royal Mile!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JhentgesCSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 27, 2012


After all the raving here on this place we stopped there for weekend lunch. The food was very mediocre. We got the shepherd pie balls which were swimming in way too much sauce, but were fine. We then had the fish and chips and the dough stuffed with meat and vegetable (I forgot how they called it) which again swam in the sauce and tasted OK but not more than that. The ambient is of a small local bar/pub in England, which is nice. Kids got burger and corn dogs which they ate without complaining too much, but were not very happy with.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gil100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Pours, Good Service, and Good food.”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The value for the money is awesome. All entrees are reasonably priced. The portions were generous, and it was hot and tasty. Their Thai cole slaw was unique and good. Service was quick and friendly. Numerous drafts and fun atmosphere. Worth the trip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redhawk26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, IA
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Can't get enough...”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

When we have company from out of town we usually end up here. The food is always tasty and there's a good variety. The beer menu is great, lots of picks from the UK and Belgium when you add the Red Monk, which is just up stairs. I've have had only positive experiences with the staff. It does tend to get crowded and loud late at night and on holidays. This is just a fantastic place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Mile also viewed

 
Des Moines, IA
 
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing