We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool restaurant with a lot of atmosphere.”

Court Avenue Restaurant & Brewing Co.
Ranked #23 of 577 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A casual brew pub that fits all occasions. Stop in for a quick beer, bring the family for a round table dinner, or have that workplace pow-wow your employees deserve! Call ahead for reservations, or just swing on in.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cool restaurant with a lot of atmosphere.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If your are looking for a nice restaurant, period style decor and a good variety of locally brewed were, then this a good place to go. Nice selection of food and you need to try the beer sampler. You get 8 different kinds of their beers which equals to about 2.5 pints.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkM36364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    108
    42
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place, great beer!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

When visiting Des Moines you will not be disappointed with an evening at court ave. brewing company. Great food and definitely try the 21st amendment Ale, close to one of the best beers I have ever had. Very unique, it is aged in templeton rye whiskey barrels, which is a local whiskey distiller , very nice touch. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachlover6928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fun Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Friends took us to this delightful place. We sat in a booth in the bar area as it was more lively than the dining area. The food was delicious. Their soups were not the run-of-the-mill flavors, but very innovative. I had artichokes in mine while my husband had edamame in his (along with many other fine ingredients). They had several fish options, which our friends enjoyed immensely, but I stuck to pasta and had one of the best dishes I've tasted in a long time (farfalle, mushrooms, spinach, chicken, pesto sauce). Everyone at the table just had to have a bite of mine! My husband's jambalaya was a bit too spicy, but they offered it in mild, regular and hot, and he chose hot. He still very much enjoyed it although he was sweating from it! The drinks were also innovative and I enjoyed their special, which was a mix of ginger beer, vodka and lime juice. We will definitely be back at this restaurant the next time we are in Des Moines. Did I mention the service was great? Yep, delicious food and that too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadieSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overall good experience”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The food was good, as well as the atmosphere. There was a very nice gluten free menu. I would definitely come back again someday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 149nc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went here during NCAA wrestling tournament and even though they were very busy everything was great. Excellent food and great service.

Beer sampler was fun and had some interesting beers. Sutliff Hard cider was very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Court Avenue Restaurant & Brewing Co. also viewed

Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Court Avenue Restaurant & Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing