We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Bash Weekend”
Review of Centro Restaurant

Centro Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Centro Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 572 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 10th Street
Description: Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.
Chariton, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Birthday Bash Weekend”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were able to walk from our downtown hotel (Marriott). Enjoyed beers in their lounge prior to dinner. Service was great and the place was hopping with patrons. Enjoyed a great dinner with a very good wine ($100 for two). Environment was open and busy. Great time for a reasonable value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DKMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    231
    64
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I decided to treat ourselves while down for an I-Cubs weekend and made reservations to Centro. A bit on the pricey side but it was worth it. We started off with a limoncello martini and an Old Fashioned. Very good drinks. We ordered their onion rings for an appetizer. Wasn't that impressed with them. They had a thick breading, which I wasn't a fan of. We ordered a NY strip with asparagus and Parmesan potato grating and the filet with broccolini and Parmesan potato gratin. They were UNBELIEVABLE!! Steaks were beautifully cooked and seasoned perfectly. The star of the dishes were the gratins. Both were flavorful and cooked great; cheesy and buttery. If you want a good place to go on a date night, I recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandHZimmerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Last wk family and I had lunch at Centro-first time for me. I ordered the Reuben and it was delish. All the sandwiches were huge and the ladies took half home. The salad that came with had lots of cheese on it and was also tasty. Wait staff great, there but not intrusive. Great lunch experience. Will go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaMa_C52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT DODGE IOWA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunch And The Farmer's Market”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a great lunch at Centro on a rainy day between the Market and the Des Moines Art Show. The place really crowded up wtih the start of the rain but our service was excellent and so was the food. It's great to see Des Moines support fine resturants like Centro. After living near Chicago for three decades we have found that Des Moines has many great places to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALLENRHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Wonderful wood fired roasted pizza and a great Cesar Salad with extra whole anchovies. Great staff and wonderful wine list. A remarkable meal, that reminded me of San Francisco. Would most definitely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vickinbobyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centro Restaurant also viewed

 
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Centro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing