We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't give me pie. :(”
Review of Perkins Restaurant

Perkins Restaurant
Ranked #158 of 573 Restaurants in Des Moines
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wouldn't give me pie. :(”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I went in one night for just a light dinner but really what I wanted was a piece of pie. It wasn't very busy but there were only a few people working so I waited 15 minutes after I was done eating and then decided I was not meant to have dessert. Packed up my things and got ready to leave and that's when the server made it back to me. Just gave up and went back to the hotel.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tlm0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    23
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huxley, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“sit down quick food”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

it's ok. it's not great. The service can be quick or slow, the food is a sit down quick food restaurant. Nothing fancy.

Helpful?
Thank leslee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great server, food took a while”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Ok so you know what you're getting with Perkins, no surprises there. We had a party of ten and were seated quickly albeit in 2 adjacent areas. We ordered quickly then waited. And waited. The food, when it did come, was great and what we expected. Our server, Jeremy, was very nice and attentive. If the food had come earlier, I would had give a better review.

Close to the hotel, too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stellarossa451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“More often than not things will not go your way eating here”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I am tired of waiting forty minutes for lukewarm food. And you know that if you send it back the cook will spit in it or something. There are too many good restaurants in the world to waste money on a place only people drunk out of their minds want to visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Rose, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“close to hotel”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Portions were small and they did not have all the menu items. This Perkins was at best only average and waiters were slow and not very attentive

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perkins Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Perkins Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing