We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tursi's Latin King Restaurant

Tursi's Latin King Restaurant
2200 Hubbell Ave, Des Moines, IA 50317-2594
515-266-4466
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 539 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Olympia, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went there with a group of approx 40 people, we had to wait for,the table a little while even though we had reservations. Our waiter was great made recommendations about the homemade Parmesan dressing for my salad was great. I also had the shrimp appetizer it was excellent. The had dessert Tiramisu, it was the Best I have ever had, share and everyone agreed, also had a taste of the cannoli and it was also good. If I had any complaint,is that it took a little long to get our bill at our table, everyone was gone from our group by the time we got it, other than that would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    57
    16
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
308 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Local favorite with fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Growing up around DSM I had yet to try this local gem... but I finally did for my parents anniversary. BEST DECISION EVER! Wait wasn't long at all but this place does get packed. Even though this is an Italian restaurant -- they have amazing onion rings! For the entree I ordered a shrimp pasta dish and was very pleased! The sauce was nice and light just like the waiter said and they even toned down the spice per my request. Having gone to Italy last August I had yet to be to an Italian restaurant just because nothing would compare. But this is spot on even down to the cannoli's. The waiter was super friendly and helpful and you could tell they have been there for a long time and know their stuff!!

Everything on the menu looked delicious and will definitely be coming back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ajchandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
367 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“All around excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The service was stellar - we really felt like we could sit and enjoy a great meal and conversation. The food was excellent - everyone's dish was perfect. No complaints and the bread was served warm.
Definitely a gem in Des Moines!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“A true landmark for the East side.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

In case you have been living in a cave in Des Moines everyone knows that Tursi's could very well be the oldest restaurant in Des Moines. They have packed the house for almost, if not a generation. The food is well above average and the service is very well staffed. Over the years Tursi's has changed their decor to except the every growing amount of customers which has been a big plus in their success. Romantic atmosphere is the key word here also, but depending where you are seated you might want to bring a flash light to read the menu. A wide selection of entries to choose from and all our top notch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't be beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Seperately, everything would be excellent. But together...the dining experience at Latin King can't be beat. There is no comparison! when you combine the ambiance, the staff, the food, the wine and the caring owners together, it is just the best dining experience in Des Moines, if not Iowa!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tursi's Latin King Restaurant also viewed

 
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Tursi's Latin King Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing