We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is Italian!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tumea & Sons

Tumea & Sons
Ranked #46 of 563 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Altoona, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This is Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had lunch a Tumea & Sons this week and thought the cavatelli was excellent. The homemade bread is the best. You will not find better service anywhere. The food and service will bring me back. Come early if your stopping for lunch, since this real Italian restaurant is no secret.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Litte found treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stopped for lunch the other day, as we just experienced shopping (for food items) at Graziano's about 1 block away. What a welcome surprise. Service was great, and the food was outstanding! No wonder they've been around for years.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bake101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
493 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Pricey with Smaller Portions but Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wife and I went out to dinner with friends at this establishment for the first time. $32 got us Small Chicken Romano and Chicken Marsala, both with salads and baked Potato and a Diet Coke. The chicken breasts were small (I would guess 3oz). They have rather hard bread rolls for free, which I'm told they bake fresh everyday. The atmosphere is nice and loud. It is worth mentioning we had no problems with our orders or food, a full service bar is available, and the sauce they used on the Romano was unlike anything I tasted. Very well prepared meal and the taste of the sauce was a almost perfect spicy sweet mix that was nothing near tomato flavored. Worth a try! I was too busy eating for photos. LOL Thanks for reading.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredArmyRANGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
363 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Local Italian neighborhood flavor in their food, family & patrons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Tumea & Sons is a local family-owned restaurant on the south (Italian) side of Des Moines. We got one of the booths in their bar area. Was a good place to watch TV, the neighborhood 'regulars' and JoJo, one of Tumea's sons who did the bar tending and based on his conversations, was definitely familiar with the local crowd. Definitely added 'character' to the place, as does the Italian music (Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra, etc) and the walls filled with Tumea family and friend's photos throughout the years.

There's no draft beer, so we started with a couple bottles of Italian birra, Peroni and Moretti. Our entrees came with a basket of rolls and a salad. The rolls are delivered to your table warm but don't quite have the crusty outside/soft inside ciabatta flavor/texture I prefer. Being winter, the iceberg lettus salad came sans tomato but had shredded cheese on top, slices of cucumber, green pepper and radish. Tumea's creamy parmesan dressing is not the best in town, but was good. I ordered their lemon chicken, two juicy breast halves in a lemon/butter/olive oil sauce with slices of fresh lemon on top. Included side options were a baked potato, spaghetti w/marinara sauce or rice. I ordered the spaghetti without sauce/naked so I could use it to absorb the delicious lemon sauce. My companion got their Italian baked chicken, two lightly breaded, fork tender breast halves. He ordered a side of their fettuccine alfredo, very rich and creamy, cost a little extra but was worth it. Tumea's had a decent selection of wines by the glass or carafe. We got a chianti and a barbera with our meal, both were a decent pour. Our waitress was friendly and did a good job of staggering our drinks, salads, entrees, etc.

If you want to wear off your meal, they have tournament bocce ball court out back that you can play for free.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank OTR_Again_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Are you here?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Server ignored us. Told her friends about the special for the night but not us. Food was good and prices were fair. Portions were ok. Will not go back. Made to feel unwelcome in this neighborhood hangout.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank pbtmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari F, Manager at Tumea & Sons, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
First, let us apologize for your extreme lack of service that you received. We have had a lot of staff changes in the past year and would love for you to give us a second chance.

Second, let me apologize for the time it took to respond to your review. We just started using trip advisor today.

If there is anything we can help you with to make your next visit more comfortable, please let us know. If you call you would want to speak with Mario or Louie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tumea & Sons also viewed

 

Been to Tumea & Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing