We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool new place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exile Brewing Company

Exile Brewing Company
Ranked #10 of 563 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Warrensburg, Missouri
2 reviews
“Cool new place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This brewery was a really good place. Now, I must be up front, I did not eat anything while I was there, so I cannot comment about the food. The drinks however, were really good. I went with my girlfriend on a Sunday afternoon, and the beers are half-off on Sundays! They have a wide variety of beers as well as their own twists on mixed drinks, which is kind of cool too. We sat outside in the beautiful weather, and it was fun to be in that part of town, socializing with everyone. The inside of the restaurant is very nice (love the feel of a remodeled old warehouse).

The only reason I gave it 4/5 stars was because the customer service was not the greatest. They were slow to recognize we had even arrived, and we noticed that for quite a few people as well. That being said, they were friendly and helpful, just probably the growing pains of a newly opened brewery that I am confident will improve as time goes on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    89
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very nice place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a very nice place to eat. We had an enjoyable evening meal with another couple. We were pleasantly greeted by the host and quickly seated. Jonathan, our waiter, was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and professional. We had a flight of sample beers, which Jonathan explained the differences. Our meal was good - two of us had the German food plate - sausage and schnitzel. One had the grill salmon and another had the Shepherd's pie. All were tasty. We also had the spinach dip appetizer - highly recommended. It was a great evening - good company, good food, good service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomc317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good beer, great food and a fun time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was here for a business trip and while I don't like beer, my friends did and gave Exile high marks. They also have a full bar and wine list for the hop haters like myself. The food was an interesting mix between american, greek, irish and a few other cultures as well. Our groups sampled several options and all seemed pleased.That said, the pickled beets, fried pickles, burgers, and the greek salad were the favorites. The service was excellent at the bar and in the restaurant. Andy took VERY good care of our large group! The decor is Industrial/Craft style and it was all around a good evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wenpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Trendy brewery off the main strip in Des Moines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

A very hip place to be! Make a reservation. We did not have one, but did not mind waiting an hour on a Saturday night in the bar area. Their Betty beer went down easily and their food was scrumptious and just the right portion size.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsCBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food, good beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The title says it all, but places like Exile really are making a positive impact to Des Moines. This is the kind of place you'd go to when travelling to a different city -- so it's great to have it right here in sunny Des Moines. There's a "beer hall" (think small hall) on one side and a restaurant on the other. Really worth checking out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exile Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Exile Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing