We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Bushnell, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great staff as always”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Got in late after I cubs game front desk guy was awesome.. got us checked in quick and helped us with late night supper phone number for delivery..room and rates are good.. will keep staying here on baseball trips

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    113
    118
    73
    102
See reviews for
246
71
37
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wesley, IA
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business for three nights. The lobby and hallways smelled of cigarette smoke continuously, like a casino hotel. Front desk help was not friendly, just transactional.

Upon entering my room, I first noticed it had a door connecting it to the next door room. I hate that because sound comes right through. I'd rather have solid walls. Sure enough, I was awakened by the couple next door!... The room had no mini fridge or microwave. Every surface was scuffed. Carpet and furniture looked cheap and dated. The mattress was so hard, I laid on a row of pillows!

Breakfast was your basic continental. They were out of one of their two juices. My bagel was completely stale.

I would not go back if you paid me.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LauraNoelle1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Sorry to say you have the WRONG hotel. We cannot find you registered at this location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Burlington Iowa
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were tired after driving for 4 hours, to find the woman at the front desk VERY rude. We brought along our older son, so he could stay with his brother in des moines. Before we even got into the door of the hotel room, she was calling and hollering about how we had too many people in the room. strike one..stalker. then when I took the younger children to see the pool, which was not uncovered at 3 :30 in the afternoon, another woman was mopping the lobby. With no sign in sight, we proceeded towards the pool. When I stepped onto the wet floor I fell and injured my back. The rude woman at the fronst desk just looked at me. We were finally able to get the woman to uncover the pool, and my husband and older son were coming to join us in the pool area. The woman yelled that we had to pay $10 for anyone else to swim. I promptly found another reservation for the next night, cancelled with Daysinn and paid the $10. The woman wanted me to pay in cash, but I did not, I paid with my card. This was the absolute WORST experience we have EVER had!! I will NEVER subject my children to one of your hotels EVER again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminalka0403, Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
I read all your concerns and will respond accordingly. First of all your reservation was only for 2a&3c. Any extra person would violate our state fire code and that was the only reason we asked about him. As I explained to you about the covered pool when you were checking in was to keep the pool nicely heated and not let it evaporate when not in use, and will uncover as soon as someone is ready to swim. As for the floor to be wet there were 2 wet floor cones sitting at each enterances of the lobby and there is even a stick on sign on the pool door, sorry, you didn't see any of these signs. As for the $10.00 extra person charge there is already a sign on the counter since he was NOT a registered guest and I gave you an option of cash or cc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Des Moines
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
596 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
106 reviews
8.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Property: Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Address: 4845 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently Located 1 Mile From Merle Hay Hall And Close To Restaurants And Theatres Enjoy your Heartland stop at our Days Inn Des Moines / Merle Hay hotel near Living History Farms. Located just off Interstate 35 / 80 in the northwestern corner of the city, our Des Moines, IA, hotel offers easy access to Saylorville Lake and downtown while providing comfortable accommodations at a great rate. Swim in the indoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or play games in the two-story game room before grabbing an evening drink in the on-site lounge, Derry's. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Des Moines, Iowa. Start your day with free Daybreak continental breakfast before heading out. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS From our Des Moines, IA, hotel, you can stroll The Principal Riverwalk - a recently completed project that includes trails, a garden and skating plaza along the Des Moines River - or walk through Pappajohn Sculpture Park. Slide down the water rides and roller coasters at Adventureland amusement park, just 15 minutes west of our hotel in Altoona, or indulge in some adult fun at Prairie Meadows racetrack and casino, also in Altoona. Spend a day on the water at Saylorville Lake or Grays's lake for slower-paced activities like fishing, hiking and boating. DINING OPTIONS There are over a dozen restaurants to choose from within a mile of our Des Moines, IA, hotel, including Bennigan's, Perkins, Felix & Oscars and Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe. Head to downtown hotspots in the revitalized East Village area or near the Iowa Events center for dozens more options. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES We offer meeting space for your upcoming event, as well as copy and fax services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay Hotel Des Moines
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing