We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    113
    118
    72
    102
See reviews for
245
71
37
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, IL
2 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this Days Inn. The staff was very nice and very helpful. The breakfast was really good. Everything was neat and clean. We will be staying there in the future when we visit our grandson and great grandchildren.

Room Tip: Stay on the north side, away from the McDonald's drive thru. Someone checking in at the same ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Lomond, California
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The staff was very helpful and friendly! I ended up staying in Des Moines twice as long as I had expected due to a family illness. The night clerk and the manager were very supportive and gave me a good deal when I had to extend my stay. The indoor pool and hot tub were a real plus since I like to swim in the evening. The included breakfast was fairly standard, but good. The rooms are clean and spacious. Derry's bar, located in the back of the motel, has great local atmosphere and a friendly bar tender. It felt like the Cheers tavern - as seen on TV! I like rooms with value, this was a great choice for me!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STANTON
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Rooms were not very clean, the manager was so rude, comforter had cigarette burns and other stains, and the pool was shut down by 5 every night so you couldn't go swim

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank NotHappy1595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminalka0403, Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
I have read your complaint and will address your concerns in my response. I have spoken to the two other managers and they state they never spoke to you or were aware of any complaints you had as no one requested or asked for any of the managers. You were moved from your initial room of 123 because you said the room was filthy and there was blood all over the bathroom. Ellen (Our Front Desk Agent) accomodated you and moved you to another room. Ellen states that she went into room 123 to check your concerns. Ellen states emphatically that the room was very clean and there was no hint of blood or any other stains in the bathroom.

The manager on duty says at no time was our pool ever shut or locked before 10pm. He further states that at no time is aware of our Motel ever putting a comforter that has stains and cigarette burns. He states our policy has always been to dispose of any bedding which becomes stained our damaged.

If you could be specific and inform me of the Manager you spoke to, who was alledgedly rude, I will address those concerns after conducting a very thorough investigation. I take a lack of customer service very seriously and will take steps, if necessary, to ensure that does not occur again.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and sincerely wish you had asked for me or any of my subordinate managers. I am sure, given the chance, we would have made your stay exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great for the price, areas were clean, staff was friendly. Continental breakfast was sufficient. On site bar was a nice retreat, better access would be suggested. The price was very cheap considering the quality, great for a one night stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theisbarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were very happy with our room, it was clean, felt safe and secure and the help was very friendly. however when we booked our stay 3 things helped made our decision 1st was price, second was pool and third was the game room. when we got to the game room only 2 out of i think 6 games worked I was VERY disappointed in this. the other thing I found odd and a bit annoying was that there wasn’t a place to change in the pool. these being the only two complaints our stay was good but the game room needs repairs before being used as a selling point.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krys_d212008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminalka0403, Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
I have read your complaint regarding our property and will address your concerns with my reply. On the date of your stay, there were 11 games in the game room, including our air-hockey machine. The previous day of your stay, a guest had complained that the games (monopoly and "games of thrones") had not given them credit after they had inserted their money. In complaint of this sort we immediately place the game out of order, refund the money to our guests and notify the vendor. The vendor notified us that the machines were fine and they were placed back into service. At no time during your stay were there more then two games out of service. Had you addressed your concerns to the desk, we would have gladly answered your questions at that time. I personally guarantee you that all of our games are well maintained and I will never tolerate our amusement/game room becoming sub-par. Should you chose to stay with us again, I can personally assure you that I will guarantee your satisfaction with our game room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Des Moines
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
596 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
106 reviews
8.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Property: Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Address: 4845 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently Located 1 Mile From Merle Hay Hall And Close To Restaurants And Theatres Enjoy your Heartland stop at our Days Inn Des Moines / Merle Hay hotel near Living History Farms. Located just off Interstate 35 / 80 in the northwestern corner of the city, our Des Moines, IA, hotel offers easy access to Saylorville Lake and downtown while providing comfortable accommodations at a great rate. Swim in the indoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or play games in the two-story game room before grabbing an evening drink in the on-site lounge, Derry's. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Des Moines, Iowa. Start your day with free Daybreak continental breakfast before heading out. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS From our Des Moines, IA, hotel, you can stroll The Principal Riverwalk - a recently completed project that includes trails, a garden and skating plaza along the Des Moines River - or walk through Pappajohn Sculpture Park. Slide down the water rides and roller coasters at Adventureland amusement park, just 15 minutes west of our hotel in Altoona, or indulge in some adult fun at Prairie Meadows racetrack and casino, also in Altoona. Spend a day on the water at Saylorville Lake or Grays's lake for slower-paced activities like fishing, hiking and boating. DINING OPTIONS There are over a dozen restaurants to choose from within a mile of our Des Moines, IA, hotel, including Bennigan's, Perkins, Felix & Oscars and Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe. Head to downtown hotspots in the revitalized East Village area or near the Iowa Events center for dozens more options. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES We offer meeting space for your upcoming event, as well as copy and fax services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay Hotel Des Moines
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing