We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice & we'll stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice & we'll stay again!”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We came to Des Moines for the Janet Jackson concert at the State fair. This location was very easy to get to from State fair grounds. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable and bedding was very crisp & clean! For the most part this hotel was quiet, except for the loud housekeeping card that was squeaking very loudly at 7 am. That was the only problem we had. The breakfast was good with hot waffles! We'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarakaarons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    109
    113
    66
    99
See reviews for
233
70
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oelwein
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The staff was extremely helpful and very courteous. Rooms were very nice with comfortable beds. Was impressed to get a room during the busy weekend of State Fair and Knoxville Nationals.
The bar located in the lower level also was a very nice place.
We have decided this will now be our place to stay annually during the State Fair.

Room Tip: When calling mention any discounts you are eligible for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The staff were more than excellent they got us in a room we'll before check in and made sure me and my wife had everything we needed a big thank you to the entire staff. Thank you for making our weekend great. Many thanks.

Room Tip: they helped us check in during state fair
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murlburkhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Just got kicked out because they either didnt like that our family had a black child or that we didnt tell them about our 3 month old baby before checking in.... then the absolute rudeness and charges started coming, along with refusal to refund once we were kicked out!!!! Terrible and I will report to Expedia and to Better Business Bureau!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank belledawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This hotel was just the right place for us on a trip to DesMoines w/our grandkids. It was clean, quiet, beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly. We liked the layout of the room, with the sink area outside of the bath. The frig was nice in the room to keep cold drinks for the kids, the air worked well and the continental breakfast was very adequate. The price allowed us to do lots of fun stuff during the day. The kids swam the 1st night we were there...pool area is small but not many there so again, perfect for our needs. For this type of trip, we found this hotel met our expectations 100%.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travel51240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I didn't have anything bad to say UNTIL I got home & figured I left my phone charger in the room. Of course they didn't call me and their phone number & fax number on the confirmation won't work or EVEN go through. I tried several times with no luck. I have written a complain on the Days Inn website to get me a number and after two weeks NOTHING and no response. Seriously - you would thinkg a quick courtsey phone call that you forgot something would be in order! I HATE Days Inn! Also the hot tub didn't seem to have a switch for Jets - you had to power on and off the emergency jets and that barely worked. There is also a game room here and it shuts off by 10:00 and we lost several dollars in the crappy machines. The game room was the #1 reason we took our boys there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2011

stayed at numerous choice hotels for the past week starting in arizona this 1 definitely the best so far

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmexiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#9 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#36 of 48 in Des Moines
2.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
8.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Property: Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Address: 4845 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently Located 1 Mile From Merle Hay Hall And Close To Restaurants And Theatres Enjoy your Heartland stop at our Days Inn Des Moines / Merle Hay hotel near Living History Farms. Located just off Interstate 35 / 80 in the northwestern corner of the city, our Des Moines, IA, hotel offers easy access to Saylorville Lake and downtown while providing comfortable accommodations at a great rate. Swim in the indoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or play games in the two-story game room before grabbing an evening drink in the on-site lounge, Derry's. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Des Moines, Iowa. Start your day with free Daybreak continental breakfast before heading out. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS From our Des Moines, IA, hotel, you can stroll The Principal Riverwalk - a recently completed project that includes trails, a garden and skating plaza along the Des Moines River - or walk through Pappajohn Sculpture Park. Slide down the water rides and roller coasters at Adventureland amusement park, just 15 minutes west of our hotel in Altoona, or indulge in some adult fun at Prairie Meadows racetrack and casino, also in Altoona. Spend a day on the water at Saylorville Lake or Grays's lake for slower-paced activities like fishing, hiking and boating. DINING OPTIONS There are over a dozen restaurants to choose from within a mile of our Des Moines, IA, hotel, including Bennigan's, Perkins, Felix & Oscars and Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe. Head to downtown hotspots in the revitalized East Village area or near the Iowa Events center for dozens more options. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES We offer meeting space for your upcoming event, as well as copy and fax services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay Hotel Des Moines
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing