We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go get another hotel”
Review of Village Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Inn Motel
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go get another hotel”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Have stayed all over the country, this place is a 30 dollar room they want 55 for. Was very upset and will never go back. The floors are dirty and this place smells bad. Anyone who has to travel often will know

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wietztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    8
    7
    11
See reviews for
10
4
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were recently in Des Moines for a car show and got a room here as friends of ours were unable to attend. It was fairly close to the Fair Grounds, so that was a plus. Motel is older and could use some TLC. No place to meet with friends in the morning. Just a coffee maker in the hallway and 2 chairs. Drain was slow in tub. Tile loose on floor. No hair dryer or iron, but there was a microwave and refridgerator. Like I said, just needs some updates. There were holes in the sheets and the pillows felt very old.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConnieSears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Village Inn Motel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Connie Sears,

Thank you for telling us about your stay at the Village Inn Motel. We would like to tell you thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and concerns. We appreciate all guest feedback. Guest feedback allows us to make the necessary adjustments to the motel to make it a better place for you and for future guests. Thank you for telling us of your concerns. We are sorry for any inconvenience that any of them have caused you. Thank you again for your staying with us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Village Inn Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We booked a room here during a weekend conference in Downtown Des Moines. Since we booked through HotWire, we were able to stay very inexpensively. Unfortunately, we were not able to switch from a king bed room to one with two doubles, although we could understand that because our HotWire reservation was made for 2 people, we were not able able to request two beds at the time of reservation. Next time we will be making our reservations directly with the Village Inn. The staff was very friendly when we checked in (even though it was at 1am!) and our room was quiet and comfortable enough for a good night's sleep. We really appreciated the free wireless internet. While the surrounding area was a little older and more industrial than downtown Des Moines, we felt that it was fairly safe and well-lit, and there were several fast-food restaurants and pharmacies nearby for anything that we needed during our stay. Navigating to our conference downtown was quick and easy - less than fifteen minutes' driving time. Overall, I would certainly recommend the Village Inn motel for anyone looking for an economy alternative to a hotel downtown.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SM9925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Village Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear SM9925,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. We are so happy that we could accommodate you. We hope that you enjoyed the conference that you attended. Thank you for all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff.

Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Village Inn Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Joe-Benton Harbor, MI
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Did a quick Hot-Wire booking, and got a good deal on the Village Inn, have stayed at others in the chain and despite the so-so reviews, paid up front. At check in, I asked for we were getting 2 double beds or 2 queens beds, the young lady said, 1 king. I said doesn't the reservation call for 3 people (me wife and grown son) that doesn't make sense. She agreed that it didn't but there was nothing she could do, as that the way the reservation was written?? Hot-Wire asks for number of rooms, people and nights, nothing about number of beds. Asked her to please call anyone to straighten this out, after much time on the phone. I read the earlier review about the local police asking motels to scan ID's and fax them to the station. While probably not constitutional before 9-11, today I wouldn't take that chance. But when asked, I gave her my Passport Card, she really checked it out and said, what state is this from? Michigan, I answered, truthfully. (It was late, for both of us) Soon, we were in an ok double/double bed room.

Room Tip: We left early and did not take part in the discount breakfast deal at their restaurant, but from pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruckDriverFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Village Inn Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear TruckDriverFritz,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us. As mentioned when booking through Hotwire there is no mention of the bed type, as that is assigned upon arrival, as that is why the rates on this site are offered at such a great discount. For guests wishing to confirm a bed type, they are encouraged to book directly through the hotel, or through the hotel website. However, when looking for a great deal, you will be able to find great deals on sites like Hotwire, but they will lose the ability to to confirm a bed type. This is the case at all hotels that partner with sites like Hotwire and Priceline.

As for you Identification being scanned and sending to the police. The goal of the hotel is to have the utmost security for all of our guests. Although our employees are required to review id's and make a copy of it. They do not send any to the police. They only keep them on file until the guest departs. Upon departure the copy is shredded. We are sorry that this has offended you but this is a policy that is starting to occur everywhere and is only a safety precaution for all of our guests.

Sincerely,

The Village Inn Motel Des Moines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We showed up at 12:30am aftera rock concert.Most hotels in the area were booked or wanted a credit card which we didn't have.The lady at the front dest was very friendly and understanding.Mind you we may or may not have been half drunk and dressed as 80s rockers.She was very kind and helpfull.
The cost was not bad considering it was the weekend and in the capital city.Now the room was....wellworn.The bathroom had alot of mildew and I was considering skipping my shower despite being covered in concert grime . There were at least 20 coats of shiney yucky paint on the walls.The carpet was like out of an old car. The beds were comfy but poor quality and the matresses (ya,totally checked for bedbugs)had pet hair,pubes and dirt on them under the sheets.But no bugs.They give you a bar of soap but no shampoo or anything else.
Good place to flop in a pinch ,but if you have a choice maybe go someplace nicer.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltdkitten81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Village Inn Motel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear ltdkitten81,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your room. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. The management is currently looking into the situation.

Thanks again for telling us about your visit. We are going to work to correct these issues.

Sincerely,
Village Inn Des Moines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

if you want frills such as tiny bottles of perfumed hand lotion, this is not your place. They provide non-franchise basic accommodations, away from the airport and away from the city center, staffed by thoroughly pleasant people. I LIKE it. The room came with a coffee maker and packets of coffee, and there was a microwave in the lobby. What else would I need?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Village Inn Motel, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review. We appreciate your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Chose the room based on reviews. The room was fine, but the clerk insisted on copying my driver's license. It had been booked and paid for through Travelocity. This seemed unusual, to say the least, but she said it was done in conjunction with the police department, and the drivers licenses were faxed each day to the Des Moines police department. As a victim of identity theft, this caused concern, and I insisted on getting the copy of my license when we checked out. There was a problem getting this, and the clerk had to call the corporate office. We called the Des Moines police department, only to find that no such faxing of information was ever done. I don't know what they do with this information, but the fact that they lied to us makes me suspicious.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsgonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#34 of 48 in Des Moines
25 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#31 of 48 in Des Moines
106 reviews
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#29 of 48 in Des Moines
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
81 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#28 of 48 in Des Moines
100 reviews
9.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Motel

Property: Village Inn Motel
Address: 1348 E Euclid Ave, NE 14th St Euclid Ave, Des Moines, IA 50316-1218
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Village Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Village Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Motel Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing