We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful art in a beautiful location”

Des Moines Art Center
Ranked #8 of 65 things to do in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This internationally acclaimed museum houses impressive works by artists of the 19th and 20th centuries, including Edward Hopper, Georgia O'Keefe and Henri Matisse. The center, which also offers art classes, consists of three buildings, each designed by a celebrated architect: Eliel Saarinen, I.M. Pei and Richard Meier.
Seattle
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful art in a beautiful location”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Art Center in Des Moines is beautifully designed and the new wing is airy and spacious. We ate a very nice (and reasonably priced) lunch. Best of all, the art is of very high quality. Whoever is in charge of acquisitions has made some inspired choices. And folks on a budget will be happy to hear that there is no fee to enter. (Donation are happily accepted.)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank katdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    71
    15
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty sweet!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

First of all I want to point out the Architecture of the Art Center. My wife is more into art than I am, but I have to say that the mix of Architecture and Art really kept me wanting to see more. Over all we love visiting this place from time to time and have not had any complaints yet.

Helpful?
Thank Josephd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Wondered over (literally) on the advice of our BnB hosts across the street. What a lovely surprise! The Transparencies exhibit was amazing...I spent twenty minutes watching the spiders dance across the lighted chandelier! (Can't remember the artist's name...but, the docent was great!) I loved that the docents approached us and wanted to tell us about the pieces in their "room". This is a place that should be visited again and again to take it all that it offers...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeophyteHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A First Class Experience in Des Moines”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

For a smaller city, this museum seems to attract some extraordinary shows or special items. Spacious allowing for different types of art work, but never a sense of noise. Generally good parking available for this new-ish facility.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Jewel of the Midwest”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am never disappointed by a trip to the Des Moines Art Center. The current exposition on Transparencies is really very, very good...I just wish that the museum would sell a book or postcards as a souvenir of the visit. If you don't go with a notepad, it is sometimes hard to recall the names of artists to see more of their work or study the concept in depth.

And I have to say that it's my favorite place in the world to eat lunch...the soup of the day during our visit was a carrot bisque...such a beautiful presentation. The servers are charming, and the food is simple but intriguing...and delicious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jojofrance2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Des Moines Art Center also viewed

 

Been to Des Moines Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing