We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
2
8
10
16
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
8
10
16
31
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 67 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2017

This hotel is the illegitimate child of a prison cell and a bus station bathroom after they spent a filthy-dirty weekend together locked in a janitor's closet a long long time ago. The non-smoking room we requested reeked of smoke and was liberally adorned with cigarette burns on almost every surface. The carpeting, or carpet-like surface, was stickier than a frat house floor after a keg party. There was a dirty towel left on the sink - maybe someone was going to use it to wipe the phlegm next to the drain but then got distracted. For the price of the room, cheap-but-not-really-that-cheap, I expected a place where one wouldn't need to wrap up in a plastic tarp as protection from whatever bacteria used it as its permanent address. I didn't dare look at the bedding, what was the point by then, but I still get shivers at the thought of what might have been under the Technicolor bedspreads. We left immediately for another hotel down the road - fortunately we were refunded our money with no questions asked. I never thought checking into a Holiday Inn would feel so luxurious.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apwalker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017

This is a 40 dollar hotel room at best. It looks like the building and its amenities haven’t been updated in about the last 25 years. The carpeting was fraying away from every wall, the bathroom was gross and complete with dead bugs, the sheets felt like they’ve been in use for about two years longer than they should have been. The air conditioner was above the closet-cutout and there was no way to turn it off, so it ran, noisily, all night long. And its constant running made everything in the room slightly and uncomfortably damp. So the pillows were a little damp. The carpet was a little damp. If you are the type to lay out clothes, in the morning they will be a little damp.

There are absolutely no additional amenities. No pool, that’s fine. But no breakfast served, the oldest CRT TV on the planet, and nothing else in the room except the bed. Not even the typical hotel-room painting. Certainly no fridge or microwave.

Literally the only redeeming quality about this hotel is that it was better than sleeping in our car, and the front desk woman was friendly. But for the price we paid, I would expect far more updated amenities. This is not a good hotel. It would have been worth a discounted rate, like 40 or 50 bucks, but if you will be paying 80 dollars anyway, you really ought to just spring another twenty for somewhere you will enjoy staying.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole5031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Nicole, Thank you for posting your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of amenities. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

This is in a good location for the airport and is easy to get too. Plenty of parking.

The staff were excellent and very helpful. The room however was in a sorry state of repair. The door to the room didn't quite fit, I doubt it would sustain any attempt to break in.

The bathroom door had a kicked hole in it, probably someone trying to close it. But it was all in vain as the door is far too warped to fit the frame.

The beds were lumpy but cleanish. The floor was kinda trippy underfoot, slippers advised.

It was cheap, don't expect too much, staff were as I said excellent.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Dear Stephen, Thank you for posting your review and for recognizing our excellent staff.

We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the maintenance conditions you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize.

We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

The room we first went in you could hardly breath. The manager was helpful, moved us to another room. That room is livable, would not stay here with my children. The first room had mold on the vents. The vents were also in very bad shape.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank DogsandDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the issues you describe. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

I was desperate for a room, most places were sold out I really had one last effort, they had a room, but the person behind me wasn't so lucky. With that said I am thankful that it was clean, however, its just not a great place, it almost looks more like an old apartment complex, the carpets had cigarette burns everywhere, the TV was old and there was no clock. The shower had no pressure and the sink drained very slow. So, I have said this before if you are in need of a place to stay on the cheap for a night this is definitely your place. I wouldn't dare stay more than one night, but the price was right, which is why they wouldn't even honor my AAA. One thing was the front desk girl was nice and very patient as folks were looking for rooms.

Room Tip: All outside entries
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Dear Ike, Thank you for sharing your review.

We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and are sorry for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced with the water pressure during your stay. Please know the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced.

We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews