We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for and less”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
OSKALOOSA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for and less”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

So I know Motel 6 is a cheap motel, but there are certain standards that should be in place. The Airport Motel 6 in Des Moines was dirty and the walls were paper thin. I was kept up most of the night by neighbors next to me and above me. The front desk worker was sick. She was sneezing in her hands and then touching stuff without washing first. I was glad to get out of there. I'm not normally one to complain much. I tend to stay in cheap places like this, so I know what I'm up against. However, this place was just bad.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbohlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    8
    16
    25
See reviews for
15
11
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed with friends there for a night on the town. The place was clean hot water. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

I drove in from Houston and immediately drove around the hotel to check it out. I then went inside and asked if I could see the room I would be staying in. The clerk, Katie, had absolutely no problem showing me the room. It was immaculate. I also asked two different guests if they were happy with their rooms, they said yes. (I check all the hotels I stay in very well for bugs, hair, and unsanitary issues. My room was great! Clean, cable works, internet connection was good, and the hotel is within walking distance of a huge grocery store, a sit down family restaurant, gas station, Walgreens, and a small plaza of other stores and other places to eat.

For the price it was perfect. I will definitely stay here again on my way back to Texas from Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Room 206 is perfect for a couple or a single person or two friends (one bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mymarvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Went to pick up grandson at airport ..due to delay had to spend the night .. We called Motel 6 for a price quote ... $49.XX ... Check in .. friendly front person .. room was standard motel room ... spend night without any interuption ... i say fair price .. fair room .. and right next to airport .. thanks motel 6 for keeping room cost low ..

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank play4fun32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

PROS:
*price
*accepted dogs
* close to where I needed to be

CONS:
*Seemed clean enough, but smelled like smoke and barf. Note - this was a non smoking room.
*Flat pillow - that was really no pillow at all. Scratchy, thin blanket.
*Heating system was completely screwed up. Could either be really hot or really cold.
*Loud.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bwookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m60030, General Manager at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Dear Bwookie,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the M6 Des Moines (airport). I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Motel 6, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrences.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Staci Sokol
General Manager
Motel 6 Des Moines South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

I stayed at this paticular location for the convenient location and the rate but I would NEVER stay here again. I stayed on a saturday night and was woke up between 1-2 in the morning to find a parking lot full of cops. Cars were being broken into and vandalized!!!!! My non smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke and the bed was extremly worn. I do not recommend this motel because although the prices are cheap you only get what you pay for and its not worth it!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

Stayed for two nights. Read these reviews prior to arrival and must say, I had a great time. The bed was comfortable, water was hot, and felt quite safe. The staff was very nice. We talked as if we were old friends. Watched cable TV, went across the street to Hy Vee for breakfast, lunch, dinner, free WIFI and it's open 24/7. Perkins (diner/bakers square like) is also across the street and open 24/7. Can't beat $35/night! I would definitely stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gither03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#32 of 49 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
1.0 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#27 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Property: Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport
Address: 4817 Fleur Drive, Des Moines, IA 50321
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Motel-6, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Motel 6
Des Moines Motel Six
Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport Iowa
Motel Six Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing