We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good nights sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Eldridge, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good nights sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We called & made a reservation thinking we were calling a Super 8 Motel! The price was kind of high,but the room we had was very nice.The bed was VERY comfy. The breakfast the next morning was very good. A good selection for breakfast both mornings we were there

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    48
    16
    13
    13
See reviews for
62
26
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My fiance and I checked in, thankful we could still get a romm somewhere, as everything was booked. We were first put in a handicapped room, that smelled so badly like mildew. I took a shower, no water pressure and it smelled like sewer water. Stinky room all together. We went swimming in their pool, and there was sand on the bottom, assuming because of the construction. The water was lukewarm and the windows were open because of how hot the roon was.
Wre switched rooms, it didn't stink, and it was clean. But the lights flickered and out of nowhere the tv and lights went out.
Both myself and my finance work in customer service, so we are both patient, and critical. The wench at the desk was rude, didn't believe us, and came to our room to look. She said that shr can't void the room and that I would still be charged.
We left and got home at one in the morning. What a great vacation. Bad service, is what I'm most disappointed in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeholiday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and giving us feedback about your stay. I would like to apologize for any problems that you had during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night and it was exactly what we needed and expected. Smaller queen room but clean, no odd smells and air conditioner worked well. Friendly staff at check in/out. Have no complaints.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeleRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review about the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This AmericInn was rebranded from a former Super 8. The upgrades are excellent, and Rachel and her staff could not be more helpful and friendly. We spent 10 consecutive nights here while visiting family in Des Moines. The hotel staff treated us like family, the room was comfortable, beds very very nice, and the place was spotlessly clean. The hot breakfast every morning was excellent. We were not bothered with noise, even on nights when they had a full house. This hotel offers excellent value for the price, with the added advantage of having a very nice staff.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Jackie thanks for all the kind words about the staff and the hotel. We enjoy seeing you guys each year. On the behalf of our entire team we looking forward to seeing you guys next year and thanks again for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I'm a sound sleeper and could not sleep through noise. Room 203 was under a remodel, food was luke warm.

When I told the front desk server V. She acted unconcerned about our inconvenience. Its not like we were asking for a refund, but somethimg should of been offered. If you know you have noise issues don't place guests in that area.

Don't bother staying here. Overpriced for what was offered.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kangaruh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. I want to apologize for the inconvenience that you experenced here at the hotel. We strive to make sure that everyone has a good stay. I hope that we will be able to have the chance to meet your expectations again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

4 night trip with my wife and 9 year old. We chose the hotel based on reviews here. I guess we should have heeded them a little better.

The Good: The room was large. Fridge. Microwave. Nice TV. Centrally located in Des Moines. Breakfast was decent.

The Bad: Being right next to the airport, we heard and felt planes taking off, starting as early as 6am. Room was "Quick Cleaned" - meaning when we moved the footstool or chair, the carpet was dirty undeneath. No elevator was a minor inconvienence. The pool area was small. They had just filled in the hot tub. Worse, the pool area was unbelievably humid inside. I sat down there so my son could swim and was literally sweating within a minute. The pool area was also not clean. My son found gum in the pool. Finally, the internet was inconsistent. The trick was to not connect to the Americinn Wi-fi, but to the Ecolodge wifi (this was the answer from the front desk).

The Ugly: The fridge made a terrible buzzing noise. We unplugged it to sleep and let the front desk know in the morning. The maintenance man asked if we were going back to our room yet that morning. Since we were heading out after breakfast, he went up to look a the fridge. He was outside having a cigarette before we even left. When we returned, the fridge was not working at all. We called the front and found out that his solution was to turn down the fridge so it wasn't running. Granted, it was quiet, but not working. We filled the fridge with ice as a temporary solution (we had food in there and didnt want it to spoil). The manager was supposed to talk to us the next day, but we never saw her. (We never saw here the 4 nights we were there.) Someone eventually must have fixed the fridge and there was a random discount on the room rate.

Ugly #2: A youth baseball team was staying at the hotel also. The team had a party in the parking lot, right under our window. The noise went on until 2:30am. Lots of noise from the halls every night. (No noise from other rooms though)

Ugly #3: Because at 2:30am we finally complained, when we checked out the next day, they did apologize and offered us a $25 credit. After we left, I examined the bill and the total was more than it should have been. I headed back inside, and ran into the front desk people leaving for the day. Rather than offer to take care of the problem, the response was "Print it up and call the manager." When I finally lost my temper, they did go back inside and correct it. I wasn't so angry that they accidently charged us an extra $25 rather than issue a $25 credit, but that they were content to leave me there angry.

Ugly #4: We never did see the manager the entire trip. We did, however, see the employees sitting outside often.

If you read my other reviews, you'll see that we enjoy most hotels we visit. I'm sure the manager will reply and try to put a positive spin on this one too. My answer to fellow travellers is: Don't risk your vacation on this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take the room by the ice machine! You'll hear it all night long
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaywalker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are truely sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, I want to truely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay with us. Contructive feedback from our guests is helpful for us to provide great customer service.
Once again I am truly sorry about your stay. I hope that we will get the chance to meet your expecations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Room was very quiet. On the down side, stairs, no elevator. Internet didn't work properly, maybe too many on it at a time and it kept kicking me off. Still, all in all feel it was a good stay. Bed was comfortable, room very nice, clean and recently had been updated. Refrigerator and microwave in the room. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel. We appreicate all the feedback from out guests. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us. Looking foward to seeing you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites des Moines Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#24 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport
Address: 1920 Hackley Ave, I-35 (Exit 68) Highway 5, Des Moines, IA 50315-4478
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure our hotel's vibrant modern decor and warm service oriented hospitality will suit all of your needs. Our 100% non-smoking hotel offers you a variety of room choices. Select one of our family or whirlpool suites for added perks. Start your mornings off right by enjoying our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and enjoy our inviting, indoor pool.We are conveniently located directly across from Des Moines International airport and are just minutes from downtown. Our location allows for easy access to many area businesses and attractions, including Wells Fargo Arena and the Iowa Events Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the airport. Not matter where you come from or what brings you to Des Moines, we invite you come explore the fresh new look and feel throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Des Moines
Super Eight Des Moines
Des Moines Super Eight
Des Moines Super 8
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing