We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall Rating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Overall Rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is where I always stay because the staff is so professional and courteous. If I forget something, they are quick to help me out. The hotel is very clean. One of the cleanest hotel I have ever been in. I am an active duty army wife so I have been to many different states and hotels. This one is tops on my list.
The continental breakfast is helpful to me as I do not have to leave the hotel.
I have and will continue to recommend this hotel to military personnel. I know that some of them stay there now on their drill weekends.
I can not say enough about this facility and the personnel including the maintenance and house cleaning departments.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonda924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We value your gracious words about your stay with us. Our AmericInn works hard to provide the best service, we want all of our valued guest to enjoy their stay from the moment that they walk through the door. I'm so glad to hear your gracious words about the staff and we all say thank you and glad to help out. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    55
    18
    14
    15
See reviews for
67
30
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

we had a great stay. they had clean rooms, a nice breakfast. fast check in and front desk was so helpful (they printed us maps and recommended places for us to eat and shop). We would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilanneCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time and the kind words you had about the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Easy check in/out, personable staff. Excellent desk to set up my lap top computer. Lighting excellent. Comfortable bed and chair in the room. Shower was fair. Hard to find the location unless you know the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words about the room and our staff here at the AmericInn. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your room. Glad that the staff was able to get you checked in and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward to serving you the next time that you come back to Des Moines, IA. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I really enjoyed this stay. I was waiting out the blizzard in December to catch my flight to San Diego for Christmas. Was pleased with my room. They had just remodeled this hotel so every thing was fresh and new. The general manager and from desk clerks were very friendly and you could see that they enjoyed their jobs. I was allowed to leave my car in their lot for 2 weeks
and when I got back the OWNER shoveled the snow around my car and started my car so I would be warm when I left. You cant beat this type of service!! You bet I will stay there again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotty69BrooklynIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We value your gracious words about your stay with us. We are very pleased that you found the room to be more enjoyable. Our AmericInn works hard to provide the best service, we want all of our valued guest to enjoy their stay from the moment that they walk through the door. I'm so glad to hear your gracious words about the staff and we all say thank you and glad to help out. Glad that we were able to help clean off the snow on your car so you could have a safe drive home and it was no problem at all for helping out. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, mn
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel recently converted to the Americinn family from another motel. It is conveniently located and affordably priced.

The Americinn fixtures for the place are nice and new, good beds, decent-looking desks, etc.

However, their bath / shower facilities are still fair to poor. I hope they will update these next.

I travel for business often and "free hot breakfast" means a lot of different things. Here it is your standard waffle machine, various cold cereals, and a rotating mix of biscuits and gravy, eggs and sausage, and the like. It is decent and I have no major complaints, but there has been better.

Overall, you could pay a decent premium and get more comfortable accommodations, but taking a small discount to a national budget chain would yield far worse.

Will stay again, but hope for continued improvement.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We appreciate your grateful comments regarding your stay with us. The rooms are updated and we are working on getting the bathrooms updated too. Our free Hot Perk, home-style breakfast is a great value. We value what our guests like and like to hear what they have to say so that we can make your stay as good as we can for you. We look forward to having you as our guest next time you are in the Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blooming Prairie Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was a great stay the staff was very friendly with us and if we asked for anything they were so willing to help us out. The rooms are very nice and the breakfast is really good. We stay almost ever two months to visit we will stay there again. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank country654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. It's nice to hear that the staff is very helpful to our guests. Thanks again for all your kind words and hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The employees at this motel were very helpful and friendly would recommend this motel to anyone who wants the best experience they have ever had staying at a motel. loved getting up and enjoying there breakfast it was wonderful

Room Tip: there breakfast is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayrianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmoinesairport_ia, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us and the kind words. On the behalf of the staff and myself we would like to say thank you for the words and glad to hear about your stay with us. Our hot homestyle breakfast a nice from hot to fresh fruit that we have to offer to our guests. Thanks again and hope to see you on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 49 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport
Address: 1920 Hackley Ave, I-35 (Exit 68) Highway 5, Des Moines, IA 50315-4478
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure our hotel's vibrant modern decor and warm service oriented hospitality will suit all of your needs. Our 100% non-smoking hotel offers you a variety of room choices. Select one of our family or whirlpool suites for added perks. Start your mornings off right by enjoying our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and enjoy our inviting, indoor pool.We are conveniently located directly across from Des Moines International airport and are just minutes from downtown. Our location allows for easy access to many area businesses and attractions, including Wells Fargo Arena and the Iowa Events Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the airport. Not matter where you come from or what brings you to Des Moines, we invite you come explore the fresh new look and feel throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Des Moines
Super Eight Des Moines
Des Moines Super Eight
Des Moines Super 8
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing