We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Branson West, Missouri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We spent a night recently. The bed was lopsided and uncomfortable. In general, the cleanliness of the room and hotel was good. The staff was friendly. The free breakfast was OK. It's not a bad motel, but for the price, it's leaves much to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    21
    17
    13
See reviews for
34
28
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

So, after reading the other reviews, my husband and I didn't have particularly high expectations of this Comfort Inn, but our options were limited because of traveling with our dog. We were pleasantly surprised. The bedroom was really very nice, with an extremely comfortable bed and detailed attention to the aesthetics of the room. The bathroom was definitely the downside to the hotel, however, since the shower seemed quite old and the towels were pretty rough. Actually, we saw two bathrooms, since the shower in our first room wasn't working at all. Since maintenance had already left for the evening, the manager let us switch into a different room down the hall, with no hassle at all! The manager was consistently friendly, and went out of his way to help us. Overall, we had a very positive experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyrnaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McPherson, Kansas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Upon entering the hallway, my husband and I were greeted with an overwhelming smell of smoke. Thinking it was just the hallway, we held our breath till we entered our room. Our mistake, as we inhaled even more smoke. My husband went down to tell the front desk of the 'smell' because we did not want to be charged a fine for causing the order since all the signs said 'no-smoking.' The gal at the desk informed us that we would not be fined and that she would let housekeeping know.

The headboard had 'crud' on it that I had to clean off myself. The light switch had black fingerprints on it that I also, cleaned myself.

The bed's were very comfortable and despite the odor, we slept great.

However, in the am we were greeted with a shower that did not have ANY water pressure. Just a trickle emerged from from the shower head. My husband let the manger now and he 'adjusted' our bill as we checked out.

Room Tip: The only ice machine is on the 1st Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk City, IA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We are Diamond reward members with Comfort Inn, so we stay there quite a bit and know what to expect. We received this room free due to points we had earned during previous stays at this chain. We overpaid for this one, even though it was free! When we arrived, the desk clerk asked if he could help us. We started to speak, his phone rang, and he proceeded to take the call. We stood for over 10 minutes as he continued to talk on the phone. Very rude. We finally went over and sat down in the seating area. I even visited the restroom down by the pool. The room was tired and depressing looking. The a/c was loud, but still didn't mask the sounds of trucks backing up at 4 a.m. This chain uses these tiny pillows that are impossible to get comfortable on. My sofa has larger pillows. In the morning, I went to make coffee in the in-room coffeemaker, but there was only decaf. Stepped into the shower to find the nastiest, most mildew-infested shower curtain I've ever encountered. Free was too much to pay for this room. Never again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
443 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The selection of motels along Interstate 80 in Des Moines Iowa is abysmal. Dark, dingy, and old. Not the Comfort Inn. It was clean, bright, and a well appointed room. A full breakfast made it a nice stay. There is also a indoor pool. We spent an hour visiting several motels and were getting ready to move on down the interstate. Finally on our last try we found the Comfort Inn. It is a little over priced by considering what is available all around the area, we were happy to pay it.

Room Tip: Always look for a coupon book or online APP for a coupon or book thru Trip Advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George_and_Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Convenient to Interstate 80 when traveling cross country with a pet. Simple, clean, looks to be completely redecorated recently as interior looked brand new. 2nd floor room was quiet (there was another dog staying in a room at the opposite end of the hall and we could not hear its barking when we were in our room), decent quick breakfast included for$89. No extra fee for our dog. Easy on and off I80 for us as we traveled from MA to SF, CA. Great night's sleep. Nothing fancy, but great value for our needs.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sograinboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauneta, Nebraska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Choose this hotel because it had a pool and was on our route. Pool temp was perfect! Hot tub nice, too. Liked that pool opened to an outdoor patio (where we ate our ordered in pizza). Had trouble with TV in one room, but staff bent over backward to correct it, and did. Only thing that would have made our stay more comfortable would have been having a microwave and a fridge in our rooms. Mother needed a microwave, and even though there wasn't one in the breakfast room either, she was allowed to use the one available to the staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barleymow56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Of Des Moines
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#32 of 49 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#34 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#31 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 4950 NE 14th St, Des Moines, IA 50313-2033 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Des Moines
Red Roof Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Red Roof Inn
Quality Inn Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing