We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Comfort Inn”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed August 16, 2012

So, after reading the other reviews, my husband and I didn't have particularly high expectations of this Comfort Inn, but our options were limited because of traveling with our dog. We were pleasantly surprised. The bedroom was really very nice, with an extremely comfortable bed and detailed attention to the aesthetics of the room. The bathroom was definitely the downside to the hotel, however, since the shower seemed quite old and the towels were pretty rough. Actually, we saw two bathrooms, since the shower in our first room wasn't working at all. Since maintenance had already left for the evening, the manager let us switch into a different room down the hall, with no hassle at all! The manager was consistently friendly, and went out of his way to help us. Overall, we had a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyrnaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 107 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Upon entering the hallway, my husband and I were greeted with an overwhelming smell of smoke. Thinking it was just the hallway, we held our breath till we entered our room. Our mistake, as we inhaled even more smoke. My husband went down to tell the front desk of the 'smell' because we did not want to be charged a fine for causing the order since all the signs said 'no-smoking.' The gal at the desk informed us that we would not be fined and that she would let housekeeping know.

The headboard had 'crud' on it that I had to clean off myself. The light switch had black fingerprints on it that I also, cleaned myself.

The bed's were very comfortable and despite the odor, we slept great.

However, in the am we were greeted with a shower that did not have ANY water pressure. Just a trickle emerged from from the shower head. My husband let the manger now and he 'adjusted' our bill as we checked out.

Room Tip: The only ice machine is on the 1st Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We are Diamond reward members with Comfort Inn, so we stay there quite a bit and know what to expect. We received this room free due to points we had earned during previous stays at this chain. We overpaid for this one, even though it was free! When we arrived, the desk clerk asked if he could help us. We started to speak, his phone rang, and he proceeded to take the call. We stood for over 10 minutes as he continued to talk on the phone. Very rude. We finally went over and sat down in the seating area. I even visited the restroom down by the pool. The room was tired and depressing looking. The a/c was loud, but still didn't mask the sounds of trucks backing up at 4 a.m. This chain uses these tiny pillows that are impossible to get comfortable on. My sofa has larger pillows. In the morning, I went to make coffee in the in-room coffeemaker, but there was only decaf. Stepped into the shower to find the nastiest, most mildew-infested shower curtain I've ever encountered. Free was too much to pay for this room. Never again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rumbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The selection of motels along Interstate 80 in Des Moines Iowa is abysmal. Dark, dingy, and old. Not the Comfort Inn. It was clean, bright, and a well appointed room. A full breakfast made it a nice stay. There is also a indoor pool. We spent an hour visiting several motels and were getting ready to move on down the interstate. Finally on our last try we found the Comfort Inn. It is a little over priced by considering what is available all around the area, we were happy to pay it.

Room Tip: Always look for a coupon book or online APP for a coupon or book thru Trip Advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_and_Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Convenient to Interstate 80 when traveling cross country with a pet. Simple, clean, looks to be completely redecorated recently as interior looked brand new. 2nd floor room was quiet (there was another dog staying in a room at the opposite end of the hall and we could not hear its barking when we were in our room), decent quick breakfast included for$89. No extra fee for our dog. Easy on and off I80 for us as we traveled from MA to SF, CA. Great night's sleep. Nothing fancy, but great value for our needs.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sograinboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Choose this hotel because it had a pool and was on our route. Pool temp was perfect! Hot tub nice, too. Liked that pool opened to an outdoor patio (where we ate our ordered in pizza). Had trouble with TV in one room, but staff bent over backward to correct it, and did. Only thing that would have made our stay more comfortable would have been having a microwave and a fridge in our rooms. Mother needed a microwave, and even though there wasn't one in the breakfast room either, she was allowed to use the one available to the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barleymow56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed in four hotels this trip from 'ChoiceHotels.com' and the first three were excellent, all for less money than this one. This one was over $100 for one night. The outside looks nice. It's a little hard to get to from the freeway even though it's right next to the freeway! I had a confirmed reservation for a room with a king sized bed and a double sleeper sofa and they had us down for just the king sized bed. The young man at the front desk was pleasant enough and gave us what we had reserved. The way the lobby is set up, it's a little difficult to maneuver the luggage cart from the front to the elevator. The room we got had so many little things wrong with it: the corner of the drywall was broke off right where we came in (about 8" of it, not just a small chip), the towel bar next to the sink had only two hand towels on it and it was pulling out of the wall (although it looked like a brand new, stylish towelbar), the comforter had lots of snags and stains on it and was terribly dirty. I requested a new one and got it. The sofa-sleeper was very stained and dirty. The TV was set up for viewing from the bed rather than from the sofa. The 'ice bucket' was not much more than a cheap plastic bowl and didn't even have a bag in it and there was no cover for it. My husband went down and got a square plastic container and was told to just keep it in the fridge, which was fine but I just thought it a little odd. The toilet was loose! When you got off it, it came up off the floor! This is dangerous!

The hotel information booklet looked like it was the old pages from the Red Roof Inn put into a new cover. Most of the information seemed to be outdated. The Montana Mike's was walking distance and wasn't even mentioned, nor was the Bennigan's 4 miles down the road, but someone had left a menu from there in the info book, so we just went there having been at Montana Mike's the day before in Oklahoma City.

The hotel was 'pet friendly' and the view from our room was a man with a big black lab doing his business under our window. I was pretty sure the 'pet friendly' option specified that the animal be no more than 25#. This dog was much larger than 25#.

It was pretty noisy for sleeping because of the proximity to the freeway. The free breakfast was decent but certainly not oustanding. I don't think I've ever seen a crockpot with the gravy for the biscuits in a hotel before.

All in all, it was ok, but the price was out of range for the poor quality. I would have expected this if we'd paid, say, $59 or so.

Room Tip: Ask to check out the room before you pay. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the side opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrannyJules218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#32 of 48 in Des Moines
154 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Des Moines
108 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#15 of 48 in Des Moines
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#37 of 48 in Des Moines
44 reviews
9.6 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 4950 NE 14th St, Des Moines, IA 50313-2033 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: $68 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Des Moines
Red Roof Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Red Roof Inn
Quality Inn Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing