We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Average for this type of hotel. Breakfast less the average, should have gone to Denny's next door. Room cleanliness passable only. Had to take smoking room because only room left, but was pleased that it wasn't overwhelming. Would only stay here again if had no other choice locally.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    208
    129
    43
    28
See reviews for
253
119
49
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clive
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Was given keys to an occupied room at check in. Reserved a room for 3 nights. Clearly they didn't pay attention when I checked in because when my room key again didn't work on day 2 they asked how long I was planning on staying. I also noticed I was charged for the first night right away and the 2/3 nights the day after. Breakfast was minimal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Dyanna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Excellent facility and staff. Breakfast was subpar with no skim milk and no sugar-free syrup. A minor point, yes, but more healthy options would be appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This motel was centrally located in a very nice area of Des Moines and close to major freeways. All the major stores and shopping center was nearby. Since we had a pet and this was a pet friendly motel, we chose this motel. It was right next door to Pet Smart which had a Doggie Day Camp where we could put our dog during the day. Good breakfast with the basics - fruit, yogurt, waffles, cereal, juices, cinnamon rolls in a fairly large eating area. Front desk management was very helpful and friendly.
We will definitely go back when back in Des Moines area

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor as we heard people walking around in the room above us around 1:00...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great staff! Front desk very helpful as far as locating destinations and helping us with anything we needed. We stayed during the week. Our flights were such that we arrived before 3pm. The sweet lady at the front desk was able to get us in our room before check in time. Rooms are very nice and seem to have been recently redone. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenpool, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I called the day before to reserve a smoking room. Showed up, Checked in, drug my bags up to second floor, key didn't work, drug my bags back to lobby{in another building,} was given two keys, drug my bags back through the maze they call a motel back to the second floor, key still didn't work and found out someone was already in the room, drug my bags back to the lobby again. they seemed confused, had no idea what rooms they had availible, then after about 30 min they said that they didn't have anymore smoking rooms and that I would have to settle for a no smoking room if I wanted one. I told them where to put it and got my money back, Now tell me what good did it do to make a reservation when now I am in the same place as if I would have drove into town and found a room then, I am out looking for a room a 730pm at night, its cold and dark. I would not recommend this unprofessional maze they call a motel to anyone,
they don't know what they are doing and don't care. It is a joke to make reservations since they haven't got a clue if it will be availible when you get there. You are better off to drive into town and find a room then, then to count on this dump even if you call ahead.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
8.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines

Property: Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Address: 11414 Forest Ave, Des Moines, IA 50325-7031 (Formerly Heartland Inn Des Moines)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Des Moines
#11 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled rooms. Convenient location off the Interstate I 35 & I 80. Close to many attractions and businesses. Many restaurants within walking distance. Meeting facility available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing