We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like almost everything except the pillows--they were not...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We like almost everything except the pillows--they were not comfortable.
Everything else was just fine.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Robert Chadwick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 632 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank dirion
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

When I looked into finding a hotel for one night in Des Moines, I turned to Tripadvisor. I was happy to find a reasonable hotel that was rated so highly. Imagine my shock when I arrived at the Super 8 on November 9. Although the parking lot was clean and well lit, as soon as I came into the hotel, I knew that this was not going to be the highly rated affordable accommodation I had expected.

The front desk woman was friendly enough, but when I asked to check in a little early - about 45 minutes early - I was told that "I don't think that the room is ready". The place was empty, so I doubt that was the case. Regardless, my daughter and I went to eat and came back a bit after 3:00. We checked into a non-smoking 2 queen bedroom. As we were walking to our room, the stench of stale cigarette smoke permeated the halls. We were on the second floor, and although our room was non-smoking, we were flanked with rooms that were clearly marked for smoking. It was obvious that our room had once been a smoking room, as the sign had been pried off of the door with adhesive residue still visible.

Upon entering the room, on the surface it looked tidy; however, there was a grime that permeated the soft furnishings that could only be the result of previous years' use as a smoking room. The bedding was like a moisture magnet, drying out our skin faster than we could apply moisturizer. The bedding was old, pilled, and in desperate need of replacement. Upon further examination, it was obvious that the cleaning staff do a hit and miss job as there was food under the beds.

The hot tub and sauna were obviously afterthoughts and dropped in the hallway. the hot tub wasn't even filled, and by the looks of the dirt and dust in the area, hadn't been used in quite some time.

The pillows on the beds were terribly uncomfortable and left us both with stiff necks and sore backs. Back in the hall to leave the hotel, the 'free breakfast' was little more than some weak, stale coffee and a few carb-laden items. Needless to say, as bad as the hotel was, free breakfast or not, my daughter and I opted to drive 5 miles to IHOP. When we checked out, there was not 'thank you', no 'how was your stay', we didn't even receive a receipt.

I've stayed at economy hotels before, and this hotel is by far the worst. It needs to be smoke free, have a deep cleaning, and complete soft furnishing renovation. YUCK!

Room Tip: Go to the Wildwood Lodge next door. The rooms are cleaner and the breakfast far superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was a nice place to stay. The staff was extremely pleasant and the motel was clean, updated, nicely decorated, and had the standard breakfast of waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal (hot and cold), yogurt, bananas, toast, coffee and juice. We used the laundry facilities and the PC in the lobby. The surrounding area was very pretty which made for a pleasant walk after a long drive. The only drawback for this motel was the road signage. There was a 4-5 foot sign by a parking lot entrance and absolutely nothing on the building which look uninhabited. This Super 8 was a good deal and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveler696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Conveniently located, just off interstate. Close to good restaurants, Barnes & Noble, etc. The lobby, room, etc., were sparkling clean--even the parking lot. Only negative I can think of is it seemed I caught the breakfast spread on an off day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JPaige9905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
8.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
11.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#32 of 49 in Des Moines
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#29 of 49 in Des Moines
508 reviews
6.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines

Address: 11414 Forest Ave, Des Moines, IA 50325-7031 (Formerly Heartland Inn Des Moines)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Des Moines
#11 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $64 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled rooms. Convenient location off the Interstate I 35 & I 80. Close to many attractions and businesses. Many restaurants within walking distance. Meeting facility available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing