We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Des Moines”
Review of Cafe di Scala

Cafe di Scala
Ranked #251 of 574 Restaurants in Des Moines
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best of Des Moines”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is the best kept secret in Des Moines. Most people don't think about it because it's only open a couple of nights a week, but it's definitely worth it. Make your reservation for a Thursday night and there's no corkage fees. Stop @ Gateway before you come and enjoy a bottle of wine. The food is great. The pasta is handmade every day. My husband won't leave without getting their cavatelli. I'm happy to try new dishes, but I've had the prosciutto wrapped chicken and the tagliatelle when I've gone and both were phenomenal. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DSMDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    1
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Real Treat”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We rented the restaurant for an after hours event and it was a perfect venue for our party of 35+. Service was fantastic, the food unique yet delicious and plenty of it. The appetizer stations were located throughout the main floor which prompted guests to move about and mix. I especially enjoyed the stuffed mushrooms!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4DMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great recommendation.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We heard about the place from our friends that kept bragging about it. So we decided to give it a try and we didn't regret.The menu was different and original,loved the selection if wines,the quirky waitress, beautiful patio, the interior with great atmosphere,everything was where was supposed to be. If I ever go back to Des Moines I will definitely visit this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

What a delightful place! We enjoyed the pizza starter, the house salad and two pasta dishes. The pasta was done perfectly and the tastes delightful. In hindsight we could have easily split the pasta entree...definitely enough for two! The flour less chocolate cake dessert was magnificent. My only complaint...it was clear that they wanted to true the table twice that evening. The wait staff was very attentive, but we hadn't finished the appetizer when the salad arrived. Then...right behind it came the pasta! Things got a little crowded on our table for two and I so wished we had time to savor the tastes before hurrying on to the next course. Next time we will ask them to slow the pace...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeophyteHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Des Moines!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I visited Cafe di Scala on a Thursday nights with my girlfriends. Since I had made reservations and there were 5 of us, we had our own private room. We all had the special - Pasta Pomodoro with fresh crab - it was FANTASTIC! The pasta was homemade and the crab was fresh. Thursdays are a great night to go as there isn't a corkage fee. We also tried dessert - tiramisu and flour less chocolate cake and both were delicious. We had been there a couple hours and we were asked if we could move to the bar because they needed the table for another reservation. They even comped us a drink at the bar for the inconvenience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greengal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe di Scala also viewed

Des Moines, IA
Windsor Heights, IA
 
Des Moines, IA
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Cafe di Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing