We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too expensive for what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

we stayed one night here on our gowest- roadtrip. we arrived around 5pm. there was absolutely nothing going on in Des Moines ( but this is not really the fault of the hotel). our first room was in front of the ice machine and very very laud. we complained and got another room. 220$ we payed for one night- the room was big enough but in the midle of the night the AC Grill came down and woke us up. And was that blood on the curtain? i don't really want to know. There are some B&B in Des Moines- i'd stay there next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orianajade_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 681 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights in August. It's an very attractive space in both public spaces and rooms, and has a friendly and helpful staff. This review is specifically for the "King Suite" room. Currently you can't tell from the pictures on their website, but the "king suite" rooms are true suites--totally separate bedroom with a king size bed. The large pullout sectional couch in the other room folds out to a full size bed, I believe, and the mattress is reasonably comfortable. Best part: we were able to make up the "L" shaped leg of the sofa into a small separate bed for our preschooler. Perfect.

Rooms: the living room has a dining table for 4, desk, granite bar/sink/microwave, large flat screen TV, and big sunny windows. The bathroom area is small but totally serviceable, with a few extra shelves for your own toiletries. And the bedroom had huge sunny windows on 2 sides (with blackout drapes), dresser, 2 full-sized mirrored closets, and tons of outlets for charging electronic devices. The bed is comfy with good linens.

Food: The breakfast buffet is fully as good as all the other reviews say. Very good selection, plenty of healthy options including oatmeal, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs. The breakfast sandwiches are tasty. We put together a tray and brought it up to the dining table in our suite. Very nice way to start the day.

Location: Downtown Des Moines is very easy to navigate. We had a car, but the Hyatt Place has a shuttle that will take you around the nearby vicinity. It's just a few blocks walk to Court Avenue, which has plenty of restaurants and brew pubs, and a fantastic farmer's market on Saturday mornings (produce, food vendors, flowers, street performers). There's a "Pantry" convenience mart just across the street in the 2nd level skywalk. Handy during the day for little necessities.

Word of warning--there's no room service. We arrived late after a long trip (too late to take the kids out to eat) and the dining options were limited. Turns out, almost no restaurants deliver to this area, so we ordered from the very limited in-house menu and went back down to the lobby to pick it up. It took 3 trips downstairs to get everything correct; the food was fine (monte cristo sandwich--fine, club sandwich--very good, cheese pizza--not good) but to the staff's credit they did very kindly accommodate our son's food allergies and make a plain turkey sandwich that wasn't on the official menu. I'd say it's good to have in a pinch, but if you have time and a vehicle, do plan to eat elsewhere.

Overall, the space and the breakfast choices make this an excellent choice for a family. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The King Suites have a full separate bedroom. Tons of space and good layout for families.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. The room was very clean and quiet. Our room was located on the 7th floor, so we did not hear any noise from the street.
We had decided to attend an ICubs game, and It was about a fifteen minute walk from the Hyatt to Principal Park. The weather was beautiful, so we really enjoyed the walk before and after the game. It was also nice that we were able to leave our car parked on the street for the entire weekend at no cost. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Spent one night there last night and stayed in a nice, big suite. The room was great with an amazing bed. The staff was excellent and the breakfast in the morning was really nice. It is located in a great area and an easy walk to many restaurants and bars. The only issue was that the windows were cheap and it sounded like all of the motorcycles four floors below were right outside my window. Overall though, nice place, great staff, in a nice location. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on an upper floor to keep the street noise down.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjhawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is in a converted office tower. Its not built or designed to normal Hyatt Place standards. The rooms are not cookie cutter matches to the standard layout of suburban Hyatt Place's, and while that may sound like a good thing in reality its bad. In our case we really needed the 'suite' effect and wanted to use the fold out couch, but in our room the layout was odd and cramped and the couch essentially opened right up to the main bed. Not good for us. No privacy at all. The other problem was the plumbing. The shower did not drain at all, which grossed us out a bit. No one wants to shower in 8 inches of used water. Come on Hyatt, get it together. Again I suspect the retrofit nature of the building was to blame. The final problem was that this hotel is small and under staffed, despite its prominent downtown location. So there were no maintenance or support staff available to help us out. Just one clerk downstairs. So its clearly not a downtown 'Hyatt'. It was relatively disapointing. Not a real hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuckathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a great hotel. It was beautiful. The lobby and room were clean and spacious. The breakfast that they serve in the morning was fabulous. They served everything from yogurt, breakfast sandwiches, cereal, and too much for me to add it here. I would definitely return here for another visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaDunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I was recently here for a wedding and the hotel was fully booked. The room we had on the sixth floor was spacious and laid out nicely, however there were some curious stains on the sofa so we didn't use that at all. The bed was comfortable and a nice bathroom. Breakfast was a total zoo. The dining space is limited and seating and coffee was hard to come by.

The worst part of the hotel was hearing traffic on the street at night and ever noise in rooms around us. We could even hear the ice machine drop ice which was down the hall from us. Not sure what causes the noise to reverberate, but were two of the most exhausting nights.

I would not stay here again. There were some great bars and restaurants within walking distance and they so offer a free shuttle around town.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaize76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.1 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 48 in Des Moines
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown

Address: 418 6th Ave, Des Moines, IA 50309-2407
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#5 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: $122 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing