We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will never stay at Hyatt again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“I will never stay at Hyatt again.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Not only do they charge an incidental charge when you check in you also get charged $27 for a $16 order from the gallery menu and they do not deliver since they are not a full service hotel as the rude desk attendant told us.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlwilsonchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    148
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
169
149
35
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Hyatt Place is a nice hotel. It has a very odd location. The rooms are relatively small with large corner sofas, a desk at an angle, a bed that takes up most of the room, excellent shower bathroom. The air conditioning is complicated to figure out.

The staff are extremely friendly and eager to please, but,they have not been trainied in things like emailing and scanning documents - key things for a business person. The breakfast is good, but, again, it has a strange lay out and is not really a comfortable environment - it's like sitting in the middle of a food court in a mall. .

The hotel is like it was put there as an afterthought (not purpose built as a hotel).

I would gladly stay there again because the people were so nice, the location is not bad, and the room was very comfortable.It was expensive for what you get, but, one expects that in a downtown modern hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I can't say enough about the Hyatt Place staff in Des Moines and the Hyatt Place brand.
This is our second stay at a Hyatt Place (Denver Tech Center) and we have thouroughly enjoyed both experiences.
This hotel is built for business travelers and techy folks. Wifi availability was great. TV and computer hookups all over the place. Outlets everywhere. My wife set up the TV remote through an app on her phone. That was pretty cool.
Elavators were super fast (random).
Our room was spotless. Once again, very modern. Shower was very nice with several different water pressure settings. They leave you a small tube of toothpaste (usually aquafresh).
We requested a late check out and they extended our stay until 2pm with no problem. We are Platinum status with Hyatt so we should have that option available to us when the hotel has the space but they did not mention my status when approving the late check out.
We ordered food through their "Gallery Menu." It is a hybrid room service/ food service thing. I love it because the prices are reasonable and you don't have to pay the rediculous room service fees when ordering. You can pickup the food downstairs. They can call you when it is ready. Our ffood took longer than expected but we did call down right as everyone was checking out.
They offer valet parking for $15 per night. On the weekends you can park for free on the street. I think for a weekday the valet is a great option.
The workout room was just enough. High quality treadmills along with a decent selection of freeweights. The pool was very warm but is as small as it appears in photos. No whirlpool.
The front desk was helpful during our entire stay and we are very inclined to stay at Hyatt Place Des Moines and other Hyatt Places in the future. Very impressed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbinsdale_Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Halfway point for family in Kansas City, KS and Madison, WI. The Hyatt staff was outstanding. The free shuttle within 5 miles was a great deal. We had a little sitting area to ourselves and when we ordered food they set it up in the dining area right around the corner. Just very friendly staff and a wonderful experience. Great hot breakfast as well!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danmel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Downtown after they had gotten a significant amount of snow and the streets hadn't been cleared yet. Since there was no parking on the street and the nearest parking garage was a few blocks away they allowed me to use their valet parking free of charge. Their free shuttle is extremely convenient especially because my friend and I wanted to have a couple drinks at a local brewery. They also have a continental breakfast with a large variety of breakfast items. Lastly, our room was very spacious, modern, and clean. I will definitely be back. Thank you for such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here a year earlier and returned once again after having spent a few trips in West Des Moines at other locations - and I'm convinced now only to stay here once I return.

The Hyatt Place is a great blend of casual atmosphere, good amenities, but with slightly nicer rooms and facilities. It's easy, comfortable, and in a great location downtown with access to the Skywalk (key in the winter). Also, not a bad breakfast either.

If you're traveling on business as I was, it's really a nice, stress-free place to stay where it's pretty much guaranteed to be clean and comfortable and give you everything you need. My favorite hotel in Des Moines.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementDSM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We are delighted to hear about your experience! It gives us great comfort knowing we are your preferred hotel when you travel to Des Moines. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our room was very large with two queens and a sectional sofa that had a pull out. We are a family with three children and take frequent weekend trips in the midwest. This hotel was the perfect for our family of five. The pull out was already made with sheets and blankets. We have stayed at a hotel in west Des Moines that was a two bedroom but it seemed too much for our needs and twice as much. Embassy suites also more expensive and the beds less comfortable and no breakfast. We couldn't be happier which is why I am writing this much deserved review.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FullHouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.2 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 48 in Des Moines
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Address: 418 6th Ave, Des Moines, IA 50309-2407
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#5 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing