We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel & Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel & Great Staff”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The hotel experience was off to a good start when we were greeted by the front desk who quickly showed me how to do the self-check in. This process was very quick and convenient. We later went to a concert and came back and I needed some neosporin for a burn. The two hotel staff on duty Ben & Ryan quickly got my neosporin and burn relief and were so nice! Later that evening we called down asking questions about the breakfast and Ryan not only explained everything but then asked if we needed anything else and Ben came up with more pillows and towels. Overall great stay and lovely hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieh7450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    144
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
162
141
34
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My two boys and I booked and stayed there for one night recently while we visited Des Moines in order to see an Iowa Cubs game (Chicago Cubs AAA affiliate). The hotel, perfectly located in downtown Des Moines, is worth the expense. The rooms are the real prize especially based on how large they are. All of the furnishings are high quality and ultra-modern. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plmccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This hotel is extremely convenient to the Polk County Convention Center and is very nice and clean. The most impressive part of the hotel is the customer service. I booked my reservation through an online service and the hotel was never made aware of the pre-paid reservation I made. Although the hotel was completely booked hotel staff, especially Wanda and Matt, honored my reservation and worked out all the issues with the online service. Every day that I stayed at the hotel a staff member greeted me by name and had my reservation issues resolved without any involvement from me. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in downtown Des Moines.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ealippmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed 6-night stay in Des Moines at the Hyatt Place. Will definitely stay there again, and will seek out Hyatt Place locations in other cities I visit. Especially pleased with staff and their interest in seeing we had a great time. Wanda was exceptionally helpful and made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jedi9899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I can't say enough about the great experience at the Hyatt Place. From the moment we arrived, every single person was extremely kind and helpful. We had a handicap accessible king suite and it was superior- the most accessible room we've had in a hotel/motel. When leaving one time, Mark was in the shuttle van in front. He left the van to assist my husband with my wheelchair and to ensure our safety in busy city traffic. Kudos to the management and all employees in making our stay very enjoyable. I was recomment this hotel to anyone visiting Des Moines.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnyWaterloo_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed overnight at Hyatt place in May. As you'd expect from a brand-new hotel, with staff that are eager to please, our stay was flawless. From drive-up until final departure, staff were attentive, helpful, and very friendly. Our room was spacious, well appointed, and had all the expected amenities. Everything is new and sparkling. The hotel is located on the downtown Des Moines skywalk system, making access to downtown attractions very convenient. Parking is a bit of a problem downtown. The hotel has valet parking for $15 a night, or you can find your own parking garage. We chose the valet option, and were very satisfied with the promptness of the service. Wanda, the front desk attendant, was extremely gracious and helpful.

This hotel has a lot going for and we would highly recommend that you consider it during your next downtown Des Moines stay. It is centrally located and very convenient for all the major downtown venues. They are highly motivated at this point to make your stay an enjoyable one. It's a good time to check them out.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I agree, the staff really makes the hotel. We also had a great experience with Wanda. She was extremely helpful. Valet was super quick too. We got the king suite. It was pretty basic, but very clean. We requested an upper floor, however were given the 4th floor with a very unfortunate view of a nasty rooftop. The hotel didn't seem very busy at all. We were just happy to be there and didn't want to bother changing rooms, however I would be sure and ask for a room with a city view and not the rooftop if I went again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.2 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Address: 418 6th Ave, Des Moines, IA 50309-2407
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#5 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing