We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Des Moines
Post
Inbox
Search

“Service Matters”

Johnny's Italian Steakhouse
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 2/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #6 of 676 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Johnny’s, our steaks take center stage and are complemented by a gourmet assortment of Italian cuisine and seafood, alongside an expertly curated wine list. Whether you choose our famous Steak DeBurgo or the classic Chanel No. 5, you’re sure to satisfy your cravings. With new-fashioned luxuries and old-fashioned service and hospitality, Johnny’s Italian Steakhouse brings the Rat Pack era to the 21st Century.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely dinner tonight made so by the excellent and warm service of Julie. Professional, caring, attentive and efficient. She combined all these attributes flawlessly. Well done!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank E1123SSjamess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSparkman, Other at Johnny's Italian Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

James - thank you for sharing your great review, I will share it with our team. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Party of 3 for dinner. One person was a vegetarian and he made the waitress aware of it. He ordered the minestrone soup and tasted meat, it had pork in it. Salads were good and the appetizers were excellent (stuffed mushrooms and bruschetta). One person ordered a bone in ribeye and there wasn’t a bone in it, think it was the wrong cut. I ordered the porterhouse and it was overcooked and not as tender and juicy as expected. The vegetarian member has a pasta dish which he said was good, but rather small for the price. We did not have desert.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank KonaCalvinLeila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSparkman, Other at Johnny's Italian Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed to hear about your recent experience. Sounds like a lot of misses on our end. I appreciate you bringing to our attention and I do not want this to be your lasting impression and would like the opportunity to make it right. If you could contact me directly at abauer@hoari.com. Thank you in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place for Sunday lunch. Loaded baked potato is indeed special for the day. Our server Kaitlyn was absolutely delightful and efficient. Thanks to staff for making accommodations to our special requests. Salmon salad was delish and scallops perfect melt in your mouth. Thank you, will be back.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSparkman, Other at Johnny's Italian Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review, I will share it with our team. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your loaded baked potato soup and that the staff was accommodating. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here and had the chicken piccata. Perfectly cooked and tasty. Wait staff was top notch and very attentive, all while getting slammed because of the snow storm. I will definitely be back!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank rjwrj85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSparkman, Other at Johnny's Italian Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your chicken piccata and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dropped in because it was convenient to our motel - great food and good service - nice to serve Pepsi products

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HonestTee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSparkman, Other at Johnny's Italian Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello - we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Johnny's. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny's Italian Steakhouse also viewed

 
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Johnny's Italian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing