We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B hosted by the best!”
Review of The 1900 Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Des Moines
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 1900 Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Des Moines B&B and Inns
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
“Wonderful B&B hosted by the best!”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our first time at the 1900 Inn could not have been a better experience! Easy to find, convenient location in the Des Moines area. The 1900 Inn has been wonderfully restored in recent years. Beautiful old home, tastefully furnished with period decor, and maintained with the evident pride of ownership. Our room was large, very comfortable, and included the amenities (bathroom robes, room service coffee in the morning, and fridge stocked with soft drinks, etc.) that made the two-night stay very comfortable! While the 1900 Inn and the room were great experiences in themselves, Tim and Jane were our innkeepers who made the B&B weekend one of the best ever. First class people who obviously enjoy sharing their inn with guests. We felt like family immediately after meeting them, and if not for such a busy schedule we would have been delighted to spend more time in their company. Thanks for a great B&B experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mco5847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
35
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franktown, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I make it a point to stay at Bed & Breakfasts on most of my travels in the U.S. and Europe, so I have many experiences to compare with the 1900 Inn. This truly had to be the finest B & B I have had the opportunity to visit. The Inn was beautiful and the breakfast delicious. But it was Tim and Jane that made the experience one I will never forget. The 1900 Inn will always be my choice in Des Moines.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisatravelbug55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Ayr, IA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We spent a night there during our anniversary and had a wonderful time! When we first arrived it was pouring down rain and Tim (bless his heart) met us at our vehicle with umbrellas! That was so nice! We weren't there much but the hospitality at breakfast was great, we had wonderful company and Tim & Jane were great! Very personable, enjoyed it very much! Very clean and beautiful place to stay. They had complimentary water & pop, and also Salted Caramel Biscotti. Wonderful and breakfast was great too! Very good food! We will definately be returning!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkader, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was our second stay with Jane and Tim at The 1900 Inn. Nothing has changed: a prompt email reply to make our reservation, our hosts greeting us at the door as we arrive, the room exactly how I remembered it, the breakfast table and fare fit for a magazine cover with enjoyable conversation with our hosts as we dine, the little touches like the bedside chocolates and the soaps and shampoos--all add up to make our stay one of timeless comfort. They even remembered from our previous stay that we are retired military and discounted us--a fact we had forgotten!

Room Tip: We love the Master Suite. A big, cozy bed and a fireplace to warm you on a rainy night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Everything was excellent. This level of hospitality is only achieved by people that love what they do. I was especially impressed by the breakfast settings. They were using plates that my mom would hide from me. If you are fortunate enough to get a booking here, you won't be disappointed. We always try not to wait til the last minute arranging our vacations and that paid off here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucanliv4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at the 1900 Inn on our recent trip to Northfield, MN. The weather in Des Moines was cold and snowy but our room (the Americana) was very warm and cozy with a nice view out the of the neighborhood. Jane and Tim were wonderful hosts--very accommodating to our schedule for arrival and quick with good recommendations for dinner (try the Drake Diner--it was very good!) The steaming hot coffee outside our door in the morning wqas a nice touch and breakfast was wonderful, wiwth good food and enjoyable conversation. One of our better B&B experiences--we will definitely return on our next trip north!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband Jim & I have stayed with Jane & Tim several times now while spending time in Des Moines, IA visiting our son & daughter-in-law & granddaughter. We have enjoyed getting to know our hosts as well as some other travelers on one occasion. It really is a small world sometimes when you sit down & visit with people over coffee & tea & a Delicious Breakfast (Always!). We look forward to each time we have the opportunity to travel to Des Moines!
~~Kathy Noble~~

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimNDesMoines_IA, Owner at The 1900 Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
We have been honored to host some truly wonderful people over the past few years in this business. Our goal has been the same since day one; to make The 1900 Inn a soft place to land for our guests. There has been many interesting discussions, a lot of laughter, and even a few tears shared over breakfast with our guests. Thanks for such great reviews and wonderful memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.4 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 48 in Des Moines
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
2.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1900 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1900 Inn

Property: The 1900 Inn
Address: 1033 26th St, Des Moines, IA 50311-4201
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE 1900 INN is a carefully remodled home built in 1900. All plumbing and electric is brand new. Wonderfully decorated and breakfasts are created with fresh ingredients, most locally grown when available. Our guests appreciate the genuine hospitality and welcoming atmosphere that make THE 1900 INN truly a soft place to land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 1900 Inn Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing