We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour!”
Review of Capitol Building

Capitol Building
Ranked #1 of 66 things to do in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent tour!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Three of us had a wonderful tour by an informative tour guide. The tour lasts approx. 90 minutes, and even though I'm not from Iowa, I thoroughly enjoyed seeing this beautiful Capitol building while learning some Iowa history. Best of all, this tour is free. I really liked this tour, and I recommend this to anyone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    118
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have visited many Capitol buildings over the years, but none as ornately beautiful as the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines. A young woman at the nearby history museum suggested we take one of the tours. There were many school groups touring, so we chose the self-guided tour, which excludes the top floor. We were able to hear bits of the guided tours while touring, which was a bonus. The building contains beautifully carved woodwork, tiles, photograph exhibits, and murals. We engaged in a brief chat with a retired agronomist, that volunteered there and a politician who mistook us for constituents. Walk around the building exterior/grounds if you have the time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Big D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You can't beat free”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The state Capitol is very beautiful. It is my favorite attraction price which is free. I loved how they explained how they keep the capitol dome gold.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ktcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I don't go to many capitol building but this was is just amazing. The history was beyond what I can find works for.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Look at Government in Des Moines”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This capitol building made for a great afternoon while visiting Des Moines. My younger sister, who is usually not into history, actually enjoyed this building. It is so beautiful and everyone enjoyed looking at the structures inside and reading about the history. Lovely visit and nice building.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Building also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing