We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, historical attraction”
Review of Capitol Building

Capitol Building
Ranked #1 of 69 things to do in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, historical attraction”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Beautiful capital building! We were able to walk through on our own for free, (there are free guided tours available as well) and one of the local Representatives who was working in the House chamber struck up a conversation with us and welcomed us to the Capital. Highlight was the exquisite Law Library, and we even got to go in a side room and see books from the 1600 & 1700's, (probably not always a possibility) plus an Indentured servants contract from around 1650!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    119
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grandchildren's day with grandparents”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

So interesting. Beautiful. Kids loved seeing and learning so many things. Well worth everyone's time to see!

Helpful?
1 Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

It was dreadful the long lines and the rude security really bothered me.The worst part was our guide kept restarting the tour for new people before we finished!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Preston151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Capitol-ize on this free treasure”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This has an address and a dot on a map. Neither is necessary. You'll see it from a distance as you drive in, or anywhere downtown, standing majestically on a hilltop, with nothing remotely close in size nearby. We've been to numerous state capitols but this is top of the list. Magnificently beautiful, inside and out, with expert craftsmanship throughout. Note the air conditioner covers. They're wood painted to look exactly like the surrounding marble.

Here's a tip: get the self-guide map but go on a tour also. The reason is that there are rooms you can enter (marked on the map) as individual visitors that the tour doesn't visit. Whereas the tour is highly informative and takes you where you can't go as individuals, like 90 stairs winding up to the dome.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucky_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Spent half hour walking around the outside, then another half hour walking around inside”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nothing to dislike. It's free, it's gorgeous, and the library took my breath away. After you go through the metal detector, you're pretty much on your own. And there's a nice gift shop inside.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TNmilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Building also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing