We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in the midwest”
Review of Miyabi 9

Miyabi 9
Ranked #64 of 574 Restaurants in Des Moines
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best sushi in the midwest”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have been there twice and each time it was great. The fish was so fresh, also try the seaweed salad, it's very good! If you like rolls try the captain crunch. One of my favorite restaurants, and I make a point of stopping here when I'm in town.

The prices are a little high compared to other Sushi restaurants but it's worth it. The place is small so you may have to wait for a table, but I have called ahead and made reservations and never had a problem.

A must stop in the Des Moines area!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindseyLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great sushi in Des Moines”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Miyabi 9 is a small sushi restaurant in the east village area of Des Moines. We stopped in during a visit to the city, and were not disappointed. The restaurant is small -- we arrived at around 6 pm on a Saturday; by 6:30, the tables were full. We tried the gyoza and five different maki. The gyoza were flavorful and well cooked. We tried a garlic roll (okay, but a bit sweet and sticky), a standard negihana roll, and three house specials. I'd have to say the house specials were the best. The Cascobay was especially interesting -- tempura fried spicy tuna. Overall, a good choice for dinner near the Capitol.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EconProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Des Moines”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Sushi Mike is a blast. The fish is fresh and delicious. I have always enjoyed the atmosphere and dont get there nearly enough! I have heard people say it is a little more expensive than other sushi houses in Des Moines but the difference is the quality and it is definitely worth it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“No frills, good food”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The restaurant is small and spartan, but the food is good. They don't mess around with their sushi. My friend and I ate at the bar and watched the preparation. It appeared the chefs enjoyed what they did. It was just super straightforward. We ordered nigiri and rolls and were pleased with both. The fish was fresh and the rice had a nice texture. The rolls were overly dressed with sauces either. It was a Thursday evening, so it wasn't very crowded, but since the restaurant is small I could see it getting crowded quickly. The crowd was mixed- a table that was obviously some sort of business dinner, two older couples, and young people. One thing I noticed was there wasn't the usual pretentiousness of some sushi places. I would definitely go back, but probably stay within the week than fight the weekend crowds.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iowacorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Mike does a great job. I eat here often and it is always fresh.

Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyabi 9 also viewed

 
Des Moines, IA
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Miyabi 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing