We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place to spend time, great bar, great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Django Restaurant

Django Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Django Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 563 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Walnut & Mulberry
Iowa
Level Contributor
220 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fun place to spend time, great bar, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We love this restaurant in the Fort Des Moines Hotel. The food is good, well-presented, and reasonably priced. The chef is inventive, and the waitstaff is excellent. The tables are a bit cramped, but you can enjoy what others are eating as well this way! Spend some time at the bar, watching the bartender, or the prep staff.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank StephanyIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    101
    26
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Had supper with some colleagues and was impressed. Had a KC micro brew at the recommendation of Pete who was tending bar. We are dined at the bar and met some nice locals. The food was fantastic. Had the salmon and it was terrific. My colleagues had the halibut and pizza and both were pleased. We finished the the meal off with an expresso martini which was a solid 10. Will repeat!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jelo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcvicar2001@yahoo.com
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going Downhill?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I don't know if there was a big personnel change in this restaurant or not - however my last visit was vastly different in quality from the first one 4 months earlier. I understand lately - that things have been going further downhill from my last visit. Quality of preparation is the primary issue here. This has been promoted as a top "French Cuisine" restaurant - and was clearly so on my first visit - but no longer it seems. Too bad

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kmcvicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines, iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in des moines. by far.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I cant say enough positive things about this place. It is five star dining with out being pretentious. It knows its an amazing place so it doesnt have to try to win you over. by the time the food comes out, you're already won over. Service is great, food is perfect. everything from the cocktail menu to the dessert menu is devine. leave the budget at home and be ready to throw down some $$. It's worth it. Dont do yourself an injustice and skip something. Order a cheese flight. get some oysters. get the french toast for dessert. You'll be glad you did! if you are a wine drinker, you can bring in your own bottle and there is no corkage fee!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank iheartjimmybuffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting menu, lots to choose from.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Menu has a lot to choose from. Something for everyone. Mussels for appetizer were very good. Food took quite awhile, we didn't mind as we were with a group of friends. Is fairly noisy but wasn't an issue for us. Would go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Django Restaurant also viewed

 
Des Moines, IA
 
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Django Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing